1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone ever rebuilt a BOYA Auto Trans?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Golferdude, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. Golferdude

    Golferdude Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    I am thinking about rebuilding my trans but would like to ask a few questions....anyone care to help?

    Golferdude
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ask the questions and then see if anyone knows the answers. You're not going to get many responses with something that open ended.
     
  3. Golferdude

    Golferdude Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Ok...have been trying to get some responses on questions regarding an auto trans...but it seems not many are too versed on it.

    I pulled my trans and replaced the converter seal and o'ring because it was leaking around the converter. Put it back in, still leaked. But then I had a P0715 code come up and it slips when it shifts and if you accellerate hard, when it gets to 3,500 rpm's it free revs. Prior to me pulling it and replacing the seal, it was fine.

    So I replaced the converter along with a new seal, and the leak has stopped. But it still slips and free revs. I have checked all of the sensors, resistance wise, and they all pass. I applied voltage to the solenoids on each leg and each one clicked.

    So my next thought was possibly rebuilding the trans. If I go that route, any special cautions or pointers? Or should I look at the TCM. It is strange how it was fine prior to, it just seems like an electrical problem.

    Please help....

    Golferdude.....
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ouch. I've never played inside an automatic transmission. I don't even own one now, not in any of the 4 vehicles at the house. Good luck on the questions- hopefully someone around here will be able to answer them. Bump for you.
     
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    Did you prefill the converter? Are you running the correct fluid? Have you checked the fluid level?
    Get a manual and read it first, you’ll need to find (borrow or buy) a couple special tools to do the job.


    I try to avoid autos now because I have come to the conclusion that the only two things that make an automatic tranny work, are witchcraft and wizardry
     
  6. delsolsir2

    delsolsir2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    your having a problem with the input to the main turbine speed sensor located on the side of the tranny, between the shift and lock up solenoid. it is held on with four bolts and is directly linke to the tps sensor on the vehicle. most of the time it will toss several codes along with this one, like p0700, p0745 indicating a problem with the tranny. you can test the input and output voltage of the turbine speed sensor by back probing the connector and running two wires into the cab hooked up to a voltmeter and driving the vehicle. you can also pick up a carchip at places like autozone for 100 that will record data while you drive and display it on a pc. check for faulty connections at the sensor or frayed wires, as they are common because the spash shields end right before the tranny casing.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page