anyone involved in formula sae?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

22crazy

just wondering if anyone on this forum is part of it.

I thought about joining it at University of Florida, but this is my first year here, and even though I have and can work on cars and such. From what I've heard first year people don't do much, so I'm holding off for a year or two. What school are you at?

Originally posted by 22crazy@Oct 9 2003, 05:58 PM
just wondering if anyone on this forum is part of it.

Not really, although I had a lot of friends that were back in school... I just chose to take part in being ASME president instead of getting involved with SAE. The organization was full of assholes at the time though, so I didn't want to play anyway.

Which university are you at?

im at the university of waterloo(ontario canada) studing engineering. im in first year so i dont do much; basically learning the concepts right now, but its pretty cool.

Get on that formula car team and get involved... the competition isn't too far from you. Maybe you'll get to see UT's car out there next year.

:thumbsup:

Get involved with your engineering discipline's main student organization too- ASME for ME, IEEE for EE, AiCHE for Chem E etc... it really helps, especially in your first few years.

well the name of my program is called mechatronics, which is basically a cross between mechanical, electrical, and systems design, but yah thanks for the tip. By the way, UT's car im assuming u mean the university of texas right? have u heard of waterloo? i no our car did pretty good other then the fact that a rad hose blow and they kicked us out, which made us lose like 1/3 of our points....the cool part was that we have the second fastest accelerationcar because of our pneumatic shifter.

Originally posted by 22crazy@Oct 10 2003, 04:47 PM