1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARP head stud install?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by smooth_criminal, Dec 20, 2005.

  1. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    So i put loctite on the studs and put them in the block, put the head on and lubed up the threads. When i went to put the nuts on they don't thread? Does anyone know what size the nut is supposed to be? The ones i have are M10 x 1.25. B18b1 block / head the ARP set i have is 802-4302. Now also what i'm worried about is that it's been sitting for about 5 hours and the loctite is dried and the insturctions say to do the final torque on the head before it dries, Is this going to be a problem?
     
  2. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    do you have the studs in upside down? im pretty sure the 2 ends have different threads. but if the lock tite is dried, remove the studs, get all the locktite off the stud, then retap the holes in the block to get the locktite out of the threads in the block. make sure you have the right nuts, then start over with new locktite. but IMO putting locktite on the studs is unnecessary.
     
  3. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I would put the locktite for a boosted app. its not necessary like gsrcrxsi sais. But under alot of boost they wont fair as well with out the lock tite. On another note removal of arp head stucks is a bitch(atleast it was for me )
     
  4. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    i'm pretty sure they can only go one way, with the allen key openening up top? Do they have allen key holes on both sides? And if i do have to remove the studs what should i use to lossen the loctite before i try and get them out?
     
  5. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
  6. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    ok so i just got off the phone with ARP and they sent me the wrong nuts.
    The nut size is supposed to be 7/16-20
     
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    hex key holes are only on one side, the up side...

    you should be good for a final torque even if the loctite is dry
     
  8. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N
    they sent me the wrong nuts also. THey shipped them to me 2 days fedex for free with an apology.
     
  9. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    Eh, I would not have put loctite on my studs, they give you the moly lube to use for a reason, its friction properties.
     
  10. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    exactly, no loctite on head studs. They are only supposed to be on there a little over finger tight. You don't need to crank the piss out of a head stud. As far as torqing down, you will be fine to do so as soon as the head studs are in the block.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page