1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARP rod bolts?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by gocivicls, Oct 30, 2003.

  1. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    As you may know I am about to reassemble my N/A LS. Shotpened rods high Comp. pistons, cams, etc. Reving to 8.5K rpms.

    Would I be crazy to use my stock rod bolts?
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    :yes:
    get arp rod bolts, paid $34 for the set new.
     
  3. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    ok! thats what I thought. :spin:
     
  4. deth101

    deth101 Senior Member

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    usa
    :werd: :withstupid:
    the head on a modded n/a engine takes mega forces
    edit:and always use new ones every time,they stretch under torque
     
  5. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    If you are going to have the bottom end apart it is silly not to get them. For $34 you really can't go wrong.
     
  6. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    if it's apart I would get it, great insurance especially for the rods..
     
  7. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,937
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    don't you want to rev higher than 8.5k when you are n/a?
     
  8. MaliWho97

    MaliWho97 Senior Member

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Do ARP Main Cap studs too.
     
  9. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC

    I already have ARP head bolts..........I just saw some ARP rod bolts for $34 on Lightningmotorsports.com. And figured If I spent the money to shotpen my rods and did not get the Rod bolts, It might wind up being a stupid mistake.
     
  10. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC

    My cams power band doesn't go higher than around 8.5k.

    I guess I will find out when I dyno it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page