1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

auto ecu in 5 speed

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by zack zerr, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    well i just did the b18a1 into my 90 hatch si... i have a ys1 trans and im kickin the code 9... i can rev all the way to 6... i have the si dizzy...and the pr4 ecu... it sputters in low rpms....and im stumped... my brother told me to put the pm6 in but when i did it sputtered worse... any help???
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    its possible the dizzy might be bad. you should not try to run the ls with a pm6. a sohc ecu is not designed to run a dohc engine.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    well the dizzy was on my friends car and it ran with no codes mabey i need to reset my ecu... havent done that yet... i just did the timing and it is on the first notch of the 3 on the crank pulley... could this be it???
     
  4. monotech

    monotech Member

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    When you set timing with timing light you need to set it on the red timing mark which will be the middle of the 3 marks. The white mark before the 3 will be your TDC mark. Use PR4 not PM6 for B18 swap. Pm6 will not provide sufficient air/fuel there for your timing will be offset..
     
  5. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    i took the hazard fuse out and reset the ecu and now it wont start... i noticed why i was kickin the code 9... the wiring harness is spliced and the blu/green and blu/yellow were off... i put them back in the plug and it is not starting.... any help??
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,451
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  7. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    k so if i mod it will it start? wat about just changing the ecu? i put the pm6 that is out of a 5 speed and it still wont start.... any help?
     
  8. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    well i looked at the code and the second to last number is not a 5 buti took it out of my auto integra
     
  9. monotech

    monotech Member

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    That's for obd-1 only not obd-0 you need a 5 speed Pr4 ecu.
     
  10. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    ya got my buddys 5 speed pr4 and it started right up... im kinda low on cash so i might trade my p28 for an obd1 5 speed...i have the boomslang jumper for it.... will i need to change dizzy?
     
  11. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    i'm lost as to whether your dizzy is obd0 or obd1 at this point. either way, there is an obd0 and obd1 pr4, so you're good to go either way lol.
     
  12. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    ok i have obd0 dizzy and obd0 pr4 but im trading my obd1 p28 for a obd1 pr4
     
  13. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    then you will need an obd1 dizzy to go with the obd1 pr4
     
  14. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    even if i have the jumper harness to convert my obd0 harness to obd1 ecu?
     
  15. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    yep. the obd0 dizzy sends out a different pulse than the obd1/2 distributors. an obd1 ecu cannot decypher an obd0 dizzy pulse and vice versa.
     
  16. zack zerr

    zack zerr New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    foley
    well i ended up gettin an obd0 pr4 and it runs fine but when i reset the ecu it surges like the cool start thermal valve is stuck...then ill adjust the screw and it runs right
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page