1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto swap anyone?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by bigmikerican, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. bigmikerican

    bigmikerican Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    [​IMG] alright ive done an b18c1 auto swap into a 93 civic dx auto chassy keeping it all auto the engine and tranny is jdm cuase only japan made gsr in auto now to the question its all in but the stupid mechanic could not get the right mounts and i searched and every custom mount made is for the manual swap not for an auto so does anyone know what mounts woud make the engine sit best in my ride cause its mounted in but he had to mod some of the body in the engine bay and he F'N bent my hood a little so the valve cover wouldnt hit now i dont care about the hood that much cause im gonna put a cf hood on but i wnat the engine to sit better so i have room for bolt on mods later please if anyone ever dealt with an auto swap of a b18c1 into a 92-95 dx let me know what mounts are best [​IMG]
     
  2. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    94-01 integra gs, ls, rs auto mounts will work.

    are you having problems with all the mounts or just the tranny mount.
     
  3. bigmikerican

    bigmikerican Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    dont know which ones are making it mount up wrong i know he did use integra mounts mixed and matched till he got the right ones but its still not sitting right
     
  4. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yea, did he cut anything? the teg mounts will work.
     
  5. bigmikerican

    bigmikerican Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    he cut some of my fender well so the tranny can fit and he heated and bended the right wall of the engine bay and its still real tight but it looks like its sitting to high and thats why he had to bend the hood a lil so it wouldnt hit the valve cover
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    :wtf:

    NONE of that is necessary to fit a b-series in a civic. your mechanic is a fucktard
     
  7. bigmikerican

    bigmikerican Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    yes he is lol but hes a friend of the family so he only charged me 500 to do the swap and some other stuff like fix my window brakes so hes charging me like close to nothing but he doesnt know shit about swaps and now im fuckin running out of money and patience on this swap its been over three weeks
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    dude, straight up... if you had to bend frame rails and shit to fit it, the motor is NOT in the car right. you either have the wrong mounts, or they arne't seated properly.

    the second you drive away, you're going to snap axles left and right.
     
  9. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
  10. bigmikerican

    bigmikerican Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    should get the car back wed so ill have pics after thanksgiving up of the hack job [​IMG]
     
  11. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    you should go kill your mechanic.
     
  12. sleepn_accord

    sleepn_accord Senior Member

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    despite what everyone here is saying, it is concievable that the frame rail and fender well needed to be modified.

    I've converted a GSR to automatic and because the auto tranny is about 1 1/2" taller than the 5 speed tranny and about 1" longer some body fabrication was necessary.

    When I did the conversion, I had to sledge the bottom of the frame rail in about 2" to fit and had to reposition the mount bracket (the bracket that's welded to the frame rail) about 1 1/2" back towards the firewall. Additionally, I had to modify the upper portion of the frame rail to allow the bracket to sit back about 1/2"

    What you should do is bolt up ALL the other mounts and check your clearances.
    If your tranny is clearing fine, then you should see how the INTEGRA tranny mount is lining up with the Civic bracket. I'm thinking that you may have to change the bracket. I haven't had a chance to compare a 5spd vs. auto civic brackets.

    Call your local honda dealer and see if there are different part numbers for the tranny mount bracket between autos and 5spds. If a difference does exist, you may be able to modify the mount. If the brackets are the same you're going to have to change the bracket to an integra one. It isn't that hard.. just a bitch to form the frame rail right. (It took me about 5 hours with a sledge to get the form accurate).
     
  13. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Ive converted cars as well. You dont need to fab anything. You can shim the mount to get the necassary height adjustment.

    additionally, just recently i got rid fo the shimmed mount for a custom piece made by camp1320.com.
     
  14. 1995EGGuy

    1995EGGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    OMG after reading this I feel like my EG's rail is useless. I did a B16 SIR-II swap with auto trans and i couldnt get a mount to fit so i used my D15B7 trans mount and cut some of it to fit in the holes and also curved the rail so the trans could sit in good. BUT! i wanna convert to manual now, what do i have to do so my manual mount would go in?

    BTW- what car did the M24A trans come from and what auto mount would of fit if i didnt cut nothing.
     
  15. Lshatch916

    Lshatch916 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    You need this tranny side mount as I found out the automatic cars used a different mounting point on the car, thus the mount on the tranny is different than the manual version, here it is for $175. i had to get the same mount when i did my auto to manuel swap

    http://hasport.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=115
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page