1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto to manual swap computer?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Ignorant import guy, Feb 19, 2006.

  1. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    when changing from an automatic to a manual transmission is a new computer or chip needed for the manual tranny?
     
  2. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    by computer i assume you mean the ecu. and yes. the car will run will the auto ecu but wil run like shit. but you could modify the auto one to work fine.
     
  3. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    what needs to be done?
     
  4. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i believe you just have to resolder some of it but im not sure if thats it, nor do i know exactly where must be resoldered.
     
  5. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    or you can just get a manual ecu for the same car
     
  6. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
  7. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    Change the ECU..I just did a 5 speed swap to my brothers 95 EX and we couldn't take the key out/turn it all the way back when we shut the car off..it was looking for a "Park" signal
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    you have to ground the gear switch connector out so the car thinks its in park, so teh car will start and you can remove the keys.
     
  9. b20z2

    b20z2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    you need a ecu for a standard which matches the engine you plan on dropping into your ride.

    b-series = 5-speed ecu for a b-series engine. (non-vtec pr4, p75) (vtec- p74)
    d-series = 5 speed ecu for a d-series engine. (non vtec p06) (vtec p28)
     
  10. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    considering the ecu's you listed also came as auto's, im going to be more specific

    for OBD1 Manual ECU's

    (PR4, P28, P30, P61, P72, P91, P08)
    5spd = 000, 001, 002, 003, A00, A01, A02, C00, C01, C02, J00, J01, J02, G00, G01

    So, it'll read 1xxxx - PR4 - A01 or 1xxxx - P08 - G01

    Something along those lines will denote if its a manual or auto, if it has something other than the last three above, its more than likely not a manual ECU.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page