1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

auto to manual

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by dragon2003, Jul 24, 2004.

  1. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    i have an 89 civic dx hatch, and i was wondering how i can to the auto to manual conversion, and i already know that most of you guys will tell me to just get a car that is already manual, but i want where is the fun in that. well if anyone can help me i will appreciate it.
     
  2. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    you will need the pedal assembly out of any 88-91 civic, hatch, or CRX along with the clutch cable from those cars also...the cable from a 90-93 teg will work but i don't know about the pedals. don't forget the main part...the tranny. i wouldn't suggest doing this unless you were going to engine swap at the same time. wouldn't really be worth it IMO. when i did the auto to manual in my 4 door, i also went b16.
     
  3. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I did it to my `91 crx, wasn't real difficult. I used the pedal assembly out of a `88 crx and the tranny from a `88 crx. I got the clutch cable from napa for a `91 crx as well. Do a search on google on how to do it, I found a few different pages that told me how to do it.
     
  4. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    It isnt that hard it is just alittle time consuming. When you go to put the manual pedals in take the air ducting out that is under the drivers side dash. There are like five bolts i think that need to be un done. I took the accelerator pedal off to make the job alittle easier. The hole for the clutch cable should already be there. It is going to be plugged with a rubber stopper. Make sure you have a few extensions and swivles too when you go to go remove and install the pedals. Rember to have patience though, if you start getting frustrated take a break. If your like me you will end up throwing a extension and spend 5 minutes looking for it. As far as the shifter goes there is going to be a hole cut out for it you will just need to tap two screw holes and bolt the shifter into position. Also there is a plug with just two thick black wires going into that plug needs to be jumped together in order to start your car. Like Cheese said there are a few websites out there with write ups on how to do the swap. Give me a minute and ill do some quick searching. If you have any questions feel free to ask and ill answer as best as I can. Best of luck to you.

    Jeramy

    EDIT:
    This is the site I used for my swap.
    http://hometown.aol.com/jrmupzaii/auto2man.html
     
  5. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    thanx for the great info Drake, and by the way i am also doing the DOHC ZC swap with an Si tranny.
     
  6. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    I just finished the swap in my Integra along with in my CRX.

    If you have a CRX then you do not need to drill the hole for the cltuch cable, however on a HB or Sedan 4G Civic you do.

    You need:

    Tranny
    Pedals
    Shift Linkages (Shift Lever)
    Clutch Cable
    Clutch Kit
    Flywheel (if keeping the D series)
    ECU
    Gauge Cluster
    Shift Knob and Boot

    If you are doing the swap tyou have to rewire some shit as well... such as the reverse lights, nuetral safety switch and key release mechanism...

    Ill check my CRX to actually find the colors for you if you like.

    If you want to swap to a manual with the D series, go for it, it saves work down the road, dont listen to those who say it isnt worth it. But if you are swapping, Id wait til you had the motor.

    Good Luck

    Brian
     
  7. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    thanx i would appreciate it, i have another question you wouldn't happen to know how to put an si cluster in a dx would you?
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    just make sure the Si cluster is from the same year as your car...

    88-89 Si Cluster into 88-89 DX/Standard
    90-91 Si cluster into 90-91 DX/Stnadard


    Other wise you'll have fun re-pinning things...
     
  9. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
  10. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    THANX, SO THEN I GOTTA FIND AN 88-89 SI CLUSTER
     
  11. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    sopda, you wouldn't happen to know anyone who would want to buy a 90-91 si cluster would you?
     
  12. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    haaa... If I had the cash, I would.
     
  13. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    well i will sell you the cluster for 50 bucks if you want it.
     
  14. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    If only... just hang on to it, when I get the cash, I holla at ya'
     
  15. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    aight cool, i'll hold it for you.
     
  16. ef9civicgen4

    ef9civicgen4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Location:
    Independence MO


    any si cluster will interchange with any year. an hf will not work, its too small. the part that will not interchange is the cover, but you can just use the one that you already have.

    if for any reason the accual cluster wont fit, you might need to remove the mounting brackets on the dx/std and put them on the si cluster.
     
  17. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    well not just any 88-91 civic/crx si cluster are interchangable, cause the cluster i have requires 3 plugs and my dx only has 2 plugs, so i am sure that an 88-89 si cluster will fit into an 88-89 dx/std and a 90-91 si cluster will fit into a 90-91 dx/std.
     
  18. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    I think you are correct. Lee Mcqueen told me this.
     
  19. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    yeah i thought so, cause i tried to put it in one day and i noticed that the cluster needed 3 sets of plugs, but my dx only had 2, so i am guessing that the si cluster i have is from a 90-91 si, and plus i could make it fit but i don't feel like taking the dash off, and playing with that many wires.
     
  20. dragon2003

    dragon2003 Senior Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    northern, cali
    where do the wires from the sensor that is on the clutch pedal run to? there is a black and blue/black wire that is connected to it, just need to know where to run them.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page