1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automatic B16 in EG

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 93Fury, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. 93Fury

    93Fury Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Ive been searching for hours trying to find a good write up or just some info on an auto swap in a 93 hatch. I found 2 things. One says cut the frame the other says bolt in. Bullshit. I got a 2nd hatch 93 dx auto and have a B16 motor with no use. I may get an auto JDM gsr tranny for it and wanted to put it in. Fun daily driver. Whats involved in this? Anyone here ever tried it?
    Thx
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    if you're doing a motor swap its REAL easy to convert from auto to manual while the motor and tranny are out...

    i wouldn't waste my time doing a B16 auto swap into anything...
     
  3. 93Fury

    93Fury Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Ive already got a b18 hatch along with a 98 gsr, both stick. I want to try something diffrent. I know im going to regret this :)
     
  4. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    search around. a guy here a while ago did this. i think his name was nuc79, and his brother niblecivic.
     
  5. base830

    base830 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Can anybody help me find an automatic b16 transmisson
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you can probably find an auto b16 tranny for cheap.. nobody wants them.. i heard it isnt that bad
     
  7. 1995EGGuy

    1995EGGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    What Transmission mount do you use for B16A auto swap?
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    probably a integra ls auto mount
     
  9. quik.e

    quik.e New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    good luck findin one, i have 1 and know theyre rare because they werent sold here auto and most people dont use them, its up for sale if u want it
     
  10. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    if you call hmotors and ask them i'm sure they might have one..
     
  11. 1995EGGuy

    1995EGGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Can i buy one for an ls auto from the dealer?
     
  12. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    yes
     
  13. stevenk92

    stevenk92 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    what do you do about the wiring? do you use anything but the speed senser?
     
  14. 1995EGGuy

    1995EGGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    You use back your old harness but you have the wire couple things up. If you could get a complete un cut harness you could salvage those wires to use on your old one.
     
  15. stevenk92

    stevenk92 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    I have a complete harness off both cars. which plugs are necessary? seems like the a&b lock up solenoids also the vss are mandatory. but are the other three required to opperate the trans.properly?
     
  16. suspendedHatch

    suspendedHatch audio/security

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    No no no.

    You need an auto tranny from a 2nd generation Integra. The 94+ Integra tranny's are fully electronic. The 92-95 Civic autos and the 91-93 Integras only have lock up solenoids controlled by a TCM.

    I have a rebuilt, zero miles JDM B16 auto tranny. It is the second of two that my friend rebuilt while attending Rio Hondo. He had heard that Honda auto tranny's are weak, but found out that they could handle a moderate amount of boost and never had any need for this spare tranny. Since then he bought an Audi and gave me all his Honda stuff. Originally I was going to swap a B into my EG with this trans but now I've ended up with a turbo Y5 mini me. If you're in San Diego you can hit me up for this tranny.
     
  17. 1995EGGuy

    1995EGGuy Senior Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No.. I have a JDM b16A 2nd gen that came with a B series auto with it. i need to know what trans mount to use because i used back civic and had to cut to fit but im not liking this.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page