1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

automatic to 5 speed trany swap

Discussion in 'Civic - EP, FA, FG' started by cejota, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    i have a d16y7 motor on my 96 civic i did a trany swap from auto to 5 speed now the check eng light is on statin that i have transmision malfunctionin do i have 2 swap the ECU since is stil the auto one and put a 5 speed ECU in it please help my car wont pass inspection because of this issue
     
  2. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    z z z
     
  3. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
  4. oyy0

    oyy0 Sleepy...

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    I have run it both ways, didn't see any difference and the check engine light did not come up once.
    What is your transmission doing that makes you think it is malfunctioning?
    Did you do the wiring yourself or did you have someone else do it?
     
  5. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    i did not do any wiring on trany most of the plugs from the the auto trany fit the 5 speed it just that auto trany has more plugs than the 5 speed the and check engine light is on i took it 2 get it check out and the code state tha the transmision is malfunctionin
     
  6. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    the transmision is in runin cond no problem at all everythin is ok with motor and trany its just that engine light is on with a malfunction transmision code but the car is ruinin dont now wat it could be
     
  7. shadyman8

    shadyman8 EG9

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Utah
    you need a 5 speed ecu ... the ecu you are using now is for an automatic so it is sending a signal to all of the sensors for an automatic trans and it is not getting a signal back there for it thinks there is somthing the matter get the ecu and you have to drive it for a lil while once you get it so it can run all of its ecu test, then it should pass safty and emissions if no emissions slap it in and get it tested
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    This forum is for 2001+ Civics. Next time, use the EG/EK forum please...
     
  9. cejota

    cejota New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    thanks guys i preciated
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page