1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avoiding Tuning

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by GlassHeadlights, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I have a D16A6 block and a D16Z6 head. D16A6 intake manifold.

    Right now it has a 10:1 CR.

    The only shop close to me can't tune my car. They have a dyno, a computer and the knowledge but they don't have any software like Crome or Uberdata to tune my car with. I have a disc with Crome basic not pro and they say that won't work.

    So now I'm thinking of putting D16Z6 pistons in my Mini-Me to basically make it a stock D16Z6.

    I have a chipped P06 ECU with an altered D16Z6 basemap on it. I was thinking of getting a stock P28 with a rev limiter basemap on a SST chip and P28 pistons.

    With that set up can I just set the timing and be on my way?

    This is what I was thinking of getting.

    Xenocron Tuning: Basemap Chip - Xenocron Custom #[Basemap-Chip]

    92-95 1.6 Honda Civic delSol D16Z6 VTEC NPR Piston Set - (eBay.ca item 260326172929 end time 02-Apr-09 02:46:54 EDT)
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    crome WILL work. your shop are morons.

    get a wideband and a laptop and hit the back streets and tune it yourself.
     
  3. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    :orly: I thought I had to have Crome Pro.

    I'll see if I can upload onto here to show you what I have.
     
  4. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I could use OGMatt's mom's laptop and how much is a wideband? $300-$400?

    I have Crome 1.5 it says.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    Crome is free, so just download the newest version (if thats not it already) ..
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  8. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I'm still thinking of swapping out the pistons and putting a stock P28 basemap in.

    Pistons and the chip will cost around $175.

    And I do have the latest version of Crome.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  9. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    crome pro only adds datalogging to crome free.

    I have NEVER used datalogging to tune a car.

    it's useful for troubleshooting, but its 100% not necessary. You just need to be quick with your eyes... 1 eye watching the wide band, 1 eye watchting the rpm gauge.

    yes, you need 3 eyes :D
     
  10. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    if you are interested i have an acer laptop here that i can sale you for 125 shipped, and if needed i may have a serial>usb converter laying around if crome needs it.

    laptop has wifi and shit too, so yeah.
     
  11. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    So I should be able to go back to them and give them the disc with Crome 1.5 on it and they should tune my car?

    Still after that it will cost $350 to get it tuned when I can get pistons and a chip for $175.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  12. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tried the autotune feature a few times.
    All it did was screw up the fuel maps.
     
  13. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    IMO, i wouldn't go there ever again.

    ... and still need to be tuned.

    chips are 'basemaps'. if you do ANYTHING major, you will need a CUSTOM tune, not an off the shelf program.
     
  14. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I don't get what you are saying.

    I will order a stock D16Z6 basemap and put it into my chipped ECU because the basemap I have on my reburnable chip is for higher compression.

    Then I will get the stock D16Z6 pistons to make it to the stock compression ratio.

    This is the chip: Xenocron Tuning: Stock Motor Basemap Chip #[stock-chip]
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  15. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
  16. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I was about to say that.

    I really wouldn't worry about the compression. I'd doubt you'd see any issues from running a stock D16Z6 map on there.
     
  17. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Are you saying I shouldn't have issues with a 10:1 CR and a stock P28 basemap OR I shouldn't have issues with the stock D16z6 CR and a P28 basemap?
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  18. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    The problem is idk what the guy who put the basemap on did.

    All I know is that my dad drove on that motor with a used headgasket and some sort of basemap for 6000 miles and it runs fine. And he didn't baby it.
     
  19. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    No issues with 10:1 CR and stock P28 basemap.
     
  20. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    not sure if these are close to you or not..


    TagRacecraft
    1015 Industry Street
    Oakville, Ontario
    L6J 2X3
    http://tagracecraft.com
    Tel: 416-418-2414

    Magnus Motorsports

    8600 Keele St., Unit # 33
    Concord, Ontario
    Canada L4K 4H8
    Tel. #: 905 669 8400 Fax. #: 905 669 0888

    Magnus Motorsports is world reknowned for their craftsmanship, exceptional quality and attention to detail. Cars can be Dyno tuned, Track tuned or Street tuned, but we prefer Dyno tune.
     
    1 person likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page