1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B-series Rods in a D15

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Kracer427, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    i found info on this swap a long time ago and since then the only site that i know of that had it, was deleted. Anyone have any info regarding how to make these fit in the D block and which parts need to be machined? I know it can be done, but i'm just getting sick of playing marco-polo with the specs online....thanks in advance :D
     
  2. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    I think the ls rods fit, but I'm not sure
     
  3. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    eh...why not just use aftermarket D series rods?
     
  4. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    LS rods will work with some machining.
     
  5. lude68

    lude68 Senior Member

    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002

    Budget most likely
     
  6. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    machine work..................................................?
    new rods that will hold more hp than the b16......$400
    throwing a B16 rod through your D15 block........priceless
    for everything else theres NAAAAAWWWWWWZZZZ...
    lol j/k
     
  7. antonio_2004

    antonio_2004 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Michigan
    I heard of ppl using b16 rods in panda motors with Toyota 1G-GTE pistons. I don't know if that is what your refering to. I cannot see any other reason why you would want to do this. There is a lot of info about panda motors on honda-tech.

    www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=267641
     
  8. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    Budget minded but also just curious. I'm pretty sure it's the LS rods that work but i know that one end has to be machined to fit on the D crank. New rods are like $400+ while i could probably get these LS rods for like $50 and have them machined. They would give a little more peace of mind too if i should boost or squeze on the engine. Trying to make one hell of a frankenstein motor for my friend out of my old D15B8 block, should be fun :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page