1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B-Series Tranny Swaping

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Bryan0129, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. Bryan0129

    Bryan0129 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Are all the B-series trannies interchangable? I am putting a B18 into my Civic and I was curious to see if any of the others will interchange, such as the YS1 to the Y80 or YS1 to the S80.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    as long as you keep cable-cable or hydro-hydro, yes
     
  3. Bryan0129

    Bryan0129 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    See the Civic is Hydro and the B18 motor came with a cable tranny, so can I can leave it Hydro and put a hydro Tranny on the B18, right?
     
  4. MugenCRX

    MugenCRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton CO
    Yes, sell the tranny that came with the motor(cable) and buy another B-series tranny(hydro).

    Also, you know that the motor you are swapping in is OBD0 and your car is OBD1 right. Those will not work together.
     
  5. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
  6. Bryan0129

    Bryan0129 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004



    No the B18A1 I have is OBD 1, Tell me if I am wrong, but it came out of a 92' Integra. The 90' and 91' B18A1 was OBD 0
     
  7. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    what year civic do you have? if its 88-91 you have to convert the engine to obd-0, which you swap out injectors, distributer, alternator, maybe 02 sensor(not too sure because some obd-1 ran 4 wire o2's, and obd-0 are 1 wire)
    and then u can get the hasport mount kit for ur car so u dont have to swap the transmission.
    You need this kit, so u dont have to swap trannys
     
  8. Bryan0129

    Bryan0129 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    I have a 93 Civic, which has the hydro tranny. So all i have to do is put a hydro B18A1 tranny in it and it will be ok...for that part.
     
  9. 90siTuner

    90siTuner Senior Member

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    CT pimpin
    i'll gladly buy that cable tranny from u if ur sellin it i need one bad
     
  10. rushcrx

    rushcrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page