1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B-series Valve Covers

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by RFHOMI2U, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. RFHOMI2U

    RFHOMI2U Senior Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Will a VTEC Valve Cover fit a non-VTEC B-series motor??? just thought i'd ask because those non-vtec valve covers are pretty damn ugly.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    no
     
  3. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    depends if it is DOHC or SOHC. I would watch out, your delving into the realms of rice. You may just want to consider doing a buff polish on your valve cover, or just smashing the piggy bank and doing a dohc vtec swap :D
     
  4. ekPhred

    ekPhred Senior Member

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    i don't think they will.
     
  5. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    One thing that looks pretty cool (dont know how long it would stay looking nice) but soaking the valve cover in some powerful paint stripper/thinner to remove all the paint and just leave the metal underneath it. There are some pics of this in the anything goes thing.
     
  6. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
    On my car you can see where I took a die grinder with a good sanding bit on it after I soaked it in a thinner. I think it looks better then the stock black powder coat.
     
  7. RFHOMI2U

    RFHOMI2U Senior Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    i'm not planning on doing it, i have a single cam motor anyways. I was just curious. Just a very stupid random thought. :D thanx guys
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    As B said,No they don't work together.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    As you can see the holes are in completely different spots.
     
  9. TRuggiero_

    TRuggiero_ Senior Member

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Winter Garbage, Fl
    What holes are you talkin bout bro? They look like they're in the same spots to me, I've heard they aren't interchangeable, but I've never tried.
    My bad, under further review, I see what your sayin, plus theres that extra bolt by the timing belt.
    What you would have to do if you did have a non vtec motor is just put a b series head on.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page