1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16 bucking, TPS???

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by codyb76, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. codyb76

    codyb76 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    I recently installed a b16 with 240km(150k miles) into my civic. It bucks at low speeds as i get on and off the gas and sometimes idles up to about 1500 and stays there. I am leaning towards throttle position sensor. No codes set. doe this sound likely? Also does anyone know if i can use my old 1.6 sohc tps on the b16? Both engines are factory canadian 99 model year engines and computers. Any other cars use the same sensor?
     
  2. madracer

    madracer Boosting B16A2

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Change the IAC{ Idle Air Control} unit in the back off your Intake Manifold.
    I had the same problem in the past.
     
  3. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Have you calibrated your throttle plate recently?

    Adjust the aptly called adjustment screw on the throttle body until your TPS reads 0.495V.
     
  4. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    In for the read. Same problem here.
     
  5. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    :confused:

    No. The idle adjustment screw will allow more air to bypass the throttle plate. That is all. You need to loosen the tps and rotate it till you get .45~.5v. Use a multimeter to backprobe the tps to do this.

    It could be the tps. It could be the IACV. Mine did that too... I just rewired the whole engine harness and replaced every gasket on the intake system and the tps and IACV so hopefully mine's fixed lol. But as for you, I suggest trying to set the tps, and then maybe replacing the IACV with a known good one. I wouldnt just go out and buy a new one if you dont need it.
     
  6. codyb76

    codyb76 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    I will do a voltage check on tps. I am almost certain it is not IAC, last time i had a problem with that i talked to a honda guy who told me to wind in the air bypass screw and it straightened my wandering idle right up. It is more like an on/off switch, like the car thinks it should be at idle and then thinks you are at 25% or more throttle without a smooth transition. It has rivets holding the tps on so adjustment is not convienient. Looks to be the same as my sohc engine tps so i will install it and then adjust voltage once the rivets are out of the way. Thanks for all advice. I will do it tomorrow and post results.
     
  7. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Uh, you're talking about the wrong screw. The THROTTLE PLATE screw.

    Let's do things how Honda does them.
     
  8. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
  9. codyb76

    codyb76 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Checked tps voltage. Is at 0.47V which is perfect. Another thing i noticed when working on it tonight is that when the throttle is held just open it surges steadily instead of just sitting at 2000 or 2200. It pulls up and down slightly. My throttle body was dirty, cleaned it, removed air screw and cleaned its passage, tomorrow will remove iac valve and clean it as well. Will try it again then and see what happens.
     
  10. stmotorsports

    stmotorsports Senior Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    i've been having the same prob in my girl's B20 hatch, cleaned the iacv thoroughly & it didnt make any difference. The car acts up so infrequently that it's been nearly impossible to accurately track down but at this point I'm willing to bet it's the tps, dunno if some dirt or contamination got in there or what. I checked voltage and it's fine but when its acting up you can smack the tps and it calms right down.

    will post back as soon as i get a definite solution
     
  11. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    Fixed it for ya.
     
  12. stmotorsports

    stmotorsports Senior Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    lol i was thinking that as i typed it
     
  13. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    ALLOW ME TO CLARIFY:

    Your problem is the throttle plate adjustment. There is a reason Honda didn't use regular screws on the TPS. You need to adjust the Throttle Stop Screw until the TPS voltage at the ECU reads 0.49V fully closed.

    This question has been asked time and again. This is your problem's solution.
     
  14. codyb76

    codyb76 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    That does make sense about the rivet for tps, but then what is the reason that honda clearly states to never adjust the throttle stop screw? I have 0.47V, i can't see that being out of the acceptable range for the ecu. I don't mean to doubt you, but i am seeing everything being quite close to where it needs to be. I does feel like there is to much air entering the engine, but has no vacuum leaks, restricted all hoses, no difference. When i checked the air bypass screw it was nearly bottomed out, where as others i've seen in the factory setting have a fair amount of adjustment range if necessary. Any idea where the engine should idle with the iac unplugged?
     
  15. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Around 450rpm for a d. Dunno for your engine. Look it up in your service manual.
     
  16. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    It could also be your tune. Or lack of a tune.

    I just realized that nobody asked if you were using the correct ECU.
     
  17. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    And they arent rivets, the are screws with the heads machined off them.
     
  18. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  19. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    I knew there was a technical term for them, I just couldnt remember, but I knew that they werent rivets.
     
  20. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD

    Yeah, I had to buy some to fix my fiat's stuck steering lock. They are pretty expensive actually.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page