1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16 in 93 eg..

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by B16swapeg, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Ok ill see if he will lend a hand..
     
  2. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Mever really touched the timing belt. Just got the engine and dropped it in.
    It ran fine for a week or 2 then all the codes came up..
     
  3. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
  4. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    My thought was driving it made the timing belt skip a tooth. But it would be nice if it was simply a ground wire.
     
  5. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Still having problems sourcing the right throttle cable.
    Tried a gs rs ls integra cable and made it work by moving the bracket around.

    Ordered a b16 cable from honda and that wasnt even close, it was making the throttle body hang open...
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    2,210
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    try to find a 94-95 del sol vtec cable
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  8. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Ok Thanks fellas....
     
  9. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    D16Z6 TB cable (92-95 Si, 93-95 EX) worked on my EG with B16A perfectly. Maybe you'll find a used one?
     
  10. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Can anyone tell me where the camshaft position sensor is on my b16a.
    Im throwing a p0340 code
    Is it part of the distributor?
    Thanks
     
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
  12. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Ok i was throwing the p0340 code so i installed a new distributor and it still didnt get rid of the code.
    Any ideas?

    Jdm ecu......oem harness ..... jdm b16a
     
  13. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Im curious how this thing went from running to shitting the bed ? Did any of the harness get modified ?
     
  14. Xanatos

    Xanatos Village Idiot VIP

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    I seriously wonder if the ECU is cooked... this is all too weird.
     
  15. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Hay guys. Quick question... the car is throwing a code for a iat sensor but the intake snorkel doesnt have a spot for it or the wiring / plug for the sensor.
    Any ideas what i could do to fix this?
     
  16. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    If you cannot find the wires for IAT then you can get a new complete harness or I believe a chipped ECU with IAT deleted (along with other possible options).

    If you can find the wire....then you could get a sensor and used harness plug with pigtails and connect it back together.

    Maybe someone else has an easier solution?
     
  17. Xanatos

    Xanatos Village Idiot VIP

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    Is this the sort of thing that could be fixed with a paperclip and some electrical tape? Seems like your options are to trick the ECU into thinking your IAT is good or get an ecu that doesnt look for an IAT
     
  18. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    The iat was actually in the last runner in the intake manifold as opposed to in the intake snorkel pipe that connects the the throttle body.
    I wish there was a way to find out what year my obd1 b16 engine is.
     
  19. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    The iat is always on the 4th intake runner on b16s there is never a sensor thats on the airbox pipe between throttle body and airbox and year doesnt make a differene but if its 0bd1 100% is 92-95 , which had no real changes
     
  20. B16swapeg

    B16swapeg Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Turns out the company that we got the swap from gave us the ecu for an automatic transmission . ..

    Gonna do some more mods then have it tuned.
    Possibly a turbo in the future.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page