B16 oxygen sensor question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to this site so I'll do a formal intro later, I just need some help first. I got a 96 civic dx that I just finished up swapping a JDM B16 into. Everything runs great after working out the little bugs, but I have an idle problem. The car is jumping only at idle from 1000 to 1500 rpm, and I can frequently smell gas and on a full tank I only got 280mi before safely needing to fill up. I know the TPS sensor usually is broken in shipping, as mine was, and I already have one on the way. But I was thinking today about the oxygen sensor.

Now besides shows and stuff, I've never seen a B16 motor sitting in front of me to compare mine to. I noticed on mine that the oxygen sensor is right before the cat, but that's the only one the motor had. The engine came from a 2000 EK4 (I bought the whole front clip) and it had 34,000KM. I know Japans laws on emission are way easier than ours, so I wasn't sure if the JDM motor was supposed to have 2 oxygen sensors or not. I'm not using a cat (sorry earth!) so I don't have a spot for a second one, because the DX model had the cat integrated into the header so both sensors were pretty much on the same pipe.

So do JDM's have 2 sensors, and maybe that is my problem? If not, hopefully a new TPS will do the trick.

Thanks guys, and I'll come back with some pictures when I get rid of this stress!

Mine has one, but it is a 93. Seems the 96+ should have two, but if you didn't find one, then maybe something is awry. Are you throwing a CEL? Did you have the cat from the JDM one? and if so, did it have the second o2?