1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16 SHORTBLOCK

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by TWAN, Mar 9, 2004.

  1. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    ANYBODY EVER DONE THIS???
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    YES, LOTS OF PEOPLE. JUST BOLT IT UP AND GO, BUT MAKE SURE YOU'RE USING THE GSR ECU OR YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO CONTROL THE SECONDARY BUTTERFLIES IN THE INTAKE MANIFOLD.

    OH YEAH, YOU MIGHT WANT TO TURN YOUR CAPS LOCK OFF!
     
  3. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    sorry bout the caps...

    i am puttin it in my gsr.... do you know of any performance gains or losses that i should expect?
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    You'll gain a tiny bit more compression- but it's pretty insignificant, like about 0.2:1 more. You might gain a tad bit more power (not really) from the compression increase, but that's about all the added performance you're going to get from swapping to a B18C head. Just keep your B16A head unless you absolutely have to replace it.
     
  5. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    do you think it will still pull as hard as the stock gsr motor i had in there?
     
  6. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    a stock b16 pull as hard as a stock gsr,? no way.
     
  7. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    No way, you're losing a lot of torque by switching to the 1.6 block.
     
  8. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    which timing belt do i use?
     
  9. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
  10. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    not an ITR???
     
  11. civicext

    civicext Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Location:
    usa
    well i will tell you how my build up go's i am doing a b16a2 with a gsr head on it for a turbo... i do not know how it is going to do but ill keep every one posted on it ..... :D :ph34r:
     
  12. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
  13. Dman1100

    Dman1100 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines IA
    why the hell would you go through all the removal/installation work FOR A SMALLER BLOCK?? i don't understand it.
     
  14. uptowng2ic

    uptowng2ic Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    The ITR timing belt won't fit the B16 because the B16 block is much smaller than an ITR block.
     
  15. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    well fuck you too! :)

    actually, next week i'm supposed to be swapping in the 1.8 into the del slow so i can't say much, hehe


    but why on earth did you take out your gsr block to replace it with the b16 block? and yes you would need the b16 timing belt because the ITR, gsr, and LS have a taller deck height over the b16.
     
  16. TWAN

    TWAN Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    im puttin it on because my origional block cracked... and i dont have the money to buy a gsr block...
     
  17. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    if you search hard enough you'll find a GSR block for 500-700
     
  18. DA69

    DA69 Senior Member

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Location:
    psl Fl.

    then why not get a ls b18a block? you could have done a bad ass ls vtec. you could have used the ls crank, rods and your gsr pistons. that with the gsr head and you would have had a better motor than before with way mor torque. ls=$200 machining=$100 (honing, pistons on rods). all the torque you can handle= priceless :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page