1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16 swap in ef

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by ricanef9, Apr 3, 2006.

  1. ricanef9

    ricanef9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    hi i just recenly swapped a b16a into my 91 civic hatch obd0 that already had a 91 b18a1 swap in it an i put the ls distributor on it ( ghetto way) and the ls harness. when i go to turn it on it just makes a clicking noise by the fuse box i'm stumped i thought it was supposed to turn over there is fuel in the lines and also when i take the plug from the wire harness to the fuse box under the hood and touch it on the chassis the engine turns over but the wire gets hot and starts to let a little smoke? the wire i believe is a ground wire for the harness but i don't know im stumped? any help will be greatly appreciated. thanks!
     
  2. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    make sure your starter is grounded correctly. Also check the tranny ground.
     
  3. ricanef9

    ricanef9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006

    thanks for the tip i did that and now the car turns over and it started but then it cut off and now i don't get a spark on my distributor it just keeps turning over? any ideas?
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    you might need to replace the distributor cap and rotor, I'm not sure tho.
     
  5. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    maybe cause u ghettoed that dizzy....its off timing pretty bad.....me n my bro used a non vtec dizzy on our mini me swap....started for a second then stopped....we put the vtec dizzy and ran ever since :mrgreen: .....try finding a b16 dizzy
     
  6. ricanef9

    ricanef9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    thanks for the tip yea we thought it was spark plugs so we switched them up and it ran for like 5 minutes and then it cuts off? any ideas? it runs like normal but then all of a sudden it starts to bog and then turns off
     
  7. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    you need the vtec dist. to make your car run, and what ecu are you using?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page