1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16 Swap Problems Running Rich...

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by JuS JAi Bee, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JuS JAi Bee

    JuS JAi Bee Honda Scene New Kiid

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisc.
    Ok So Heres The Deal... I Am Recently Bought A 93 Honda Civic... With A b16 Swap... From What I Can See Most Of It Is Done Right, Engine Starts , Runs Steady ( Which Reading Through The Forums I Notice Alot Of People Were Having Starting Problems)...

    Heres The Problem.... Its Running Way To Rich... My Air/Fuel Ratio Gauge Just Stays Rich From Start On... A Few Sensors Arent Hooked Up (i.e Vtec, IAT Sensor Ect.)

    On The Manifold There Is No Holes For The IAT (Intake Ait Temp) Sensor... What Do I Do
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2007
  2. JuS JAi Bee

    JuS JAi Bee Honda Scene New Kiid

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisc.
    20 Views No Replies Yet... Wow HS Whats Going On I Remember Days When I Could Have 50 Replies In 1 Hour
     
  3. hello

    hello New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    just because no one reply

    i'm having the same problem, let me know what it is if you find it i'll do the same..
     
  4. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    Which sensors specifically aren't hooked up? The IAT needs to be hooked up for sure, but what are the others that you didn't mention? Your FPR could be bad also check your fuel pressure and see if it is within specs.
     
  5. JWL54

    JWL54 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    the ect has a big effect on the injector pulsewidth. hook it up! iat is is important too. the next thing is the map sensor check it. then make sure your feul pressure is ok.
     
  6. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    Which intake manifold are you using that doesn't have a spot for the IAT? I've never seen an aftermarket mani that doesn't have a spot for one, but I'm sure that one exists somewhere.
     
  7. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    If there's no spot for it in the manifold just make a hole in your cold air intake or intake system and put it in there. The OBD 2 vehicles have it in there so the manifold or even engine might be from an obd2 vehicle. P.S. check to make sure your o2 sensors are working and are plugged in. If they are not working properly that will make your car work on calculations alone and will not make adjustments.
     
  8. JuS JAi Bee

    JuS JAi Bee Honda Scene New Kiid

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisc.
    its a stock manifold that doesnt have a spot for an iat... i have seen a few skunk2 and even a few blox intake manifolds without the spot... i have been told to mount the iat on the firewall... like drill a hole in it... and run it inside... tried it ran perfect until i turned the heat on in my car then i sensor blew up... and the o2 sensors work.. i just got the car back from the honda dealership... they checked it for everything because i thought the motor was bad.... came to the conclusion after multiple test thats its just running to rich.. because of the iat.. and whatever that other sensor on the harness next to it is...
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007
  9. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
  10. 14 sec. windstar

    14 sec. windstar New Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    what gen of b16 is it? if it first gen it need 2 o2 sensors if newwe could still need it replaced... any cels?
     
  11. hondaprofessor

    hondaprofessor New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    i just did a swap and im using b16 99-00 si intake manifold it doesnt have a spot for iat sensor so what should i do i plugged it up and left it hanging, should i put it somewhere like drill a hile in intake piping? i dont want it to take me run rich
     
  12. 92egSi

    92egSi I need DOHC VTEC

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    In order for the ecu to do what it needs to do, ALL sensors need to be plugged in (to the harness and vacuum*if it needs a vacuum source*). Other wise, the ecu doesnt have all the needed information. Make sure all the sensors are working correctly, and are where they need to be.
     
  13. JuS JAi Bee

    JuS JAi Bee Honda Scene New Kiid

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisc.
    Not sure if you got it figured out for yourself yet... But I drilled and tapped my manifold yet a few friends of mine have mounted them in the intake tube itself... And I've seen someone with it mounted on the firewall not sure how that one works but seemed to work fine for him
     
  14. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    holy crap! ... from '07 ..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page