1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16 Turbo headgasket

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by arpee79, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    I need to know wich turbo head gasket to use on my set up,what kind of material im not going to push alot something safe like 30psi......LOL no no just around 7psi to maximum 14psi no more ,I only bored it .20 over from stock ?will i need the head gasket to measure 81.50mm and if so where do i purchase one,How much do they go for.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    7-9 psi, is fine. but 10, you will need a 3 bar map sensor, and a standalone to handel it. so pick one, high at 14, or low under 9.

    either way, i say use the stock gasket
     
  3. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Sweet thanks abunch (pissedoffsol) so if i dont go over the 9 i should use the stock one,
    ok cool but what about the bore on the head do they sell OEM head gasket for 81.50mm oversized or can i use the same stock 81.00mm
     
  4. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,934
    Likes Received:
    738
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've seen 280WHP come from a fully stock B16 with stock headgasket I think that was around 12PSI

    but unless you are a GREAT tuner and spend a good bit of time on a dyno I would not try doing that also the motor has to be in great shape
     
  5. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Cool im sticking with what SOL said not over 9psi is fine with me, but i still would like to know can i still use the same 81.00mm OEM headgasket on my 81.50mm Cylinder or will i need to get one of that size,And if so where can i purchase one...THANKS oh almost forgot when i do put in the headgasket is it wise to use some sort of sealent like the idian glue or copper spray? :unsure:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page