b16 vs b18b

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

HatchSpeeD

...Hi...
Well, I've been saving up and learning from the almighty honda Gods here (thanks everyone). My debt will be gone soon and hopefully I will have enough money for my swap soon. I'm pretty much torn between a b18b1 or b16asir2. I would really love to have a b18c but I really cannot afford the extra $1000.

Somethings to consider;

This is my daily driver. I want to have some fun with it too and eventually start going to the track, most likely road courses.

I want to do the swap myself. I've never done it before but I want the experience and I can't afford to pay a shop to do it (plus I don't trust people around here). This might be difficult because I don't have a lot of tools nor a garage (its getting cold Brrrr). Hopefully my friends will help me out. Also I can't afford a lot of downtime because I need my car for work, ugh :(

I just can't decide between those 2 swaps.
If I get the b18b1 i'll have more displacment, more torque and the swap seems like its more easier as far as wiring. (everything should just plug in)

If I get the b16, I get the higher HP output, and the V-tEch y0! Its more rev happy which is fun but as far as the swap goes, there is a lot more wiring. But its jdm so I think I would have use 93 octane (correct)? I might not pass emmissions.

I dunno. I guess i'm looking for the best overall package.
So I guess whats your opinions between the two, because I can't make up my mind. BTW, I got a 94 civic hatch cx. PEAS*

i'd go with a 95 b18b. it's obd1, so wiring isn't an issue really at all. also, it has more torque than a b16, it's more affordable, and you could always drop new cams and get the head ported & polished (which would pretty much give you V-tEcH y0!

ahem...

it's your decision, but if i were you, i'd go with the b18. you can make up for horsepower. torque...well, it's not as easy to make up for torque.

B18.