1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A ---> 91 Civic SI WTF!?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by sleepn_accord, Aug 15, 2003.

  1. sleepn_accord

    sleepn_accord Senior Member

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Ok. So my friend and I did a B16A swap into a 91 civic SI.

    Runs fine.

    We wired up the VTEC associated wires according to a schematic I found which was as follows:

    A8 - VTEC solenoid
    B5 - VTEC pressure switch
    B19- Knock Sensor
    C8 - 2nd O2 sensor


    Now, we're getting the following codes:

    7, 17, 21 and 22.


    Is the wiring incorrect? What could possibly be the problem? Thanks in advance.
    Please! :D
     
  2. HondaMoCo

    HondaMoCo Senior Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    lancaster/palmdale So Cal
    make sure your ecu plug is all the way in
     
  3. Slo86GT

    Slo86GT Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis - Hellhole of the South
    You changed 4 wires got 4 new codes... Looks like you either wired the plugs in REVERSE or the pins weren't seated all the way.
     
  4. DAMCOOLDAV

    DAMCOOLDAV Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Location:
    China, ME
    I'm actually doing that swap into my integra right now, but anyway. 2 things to check...........well for my car anyway, i was told i have to remove the wire in B19 already and put in the knock sensor like u did, but take the one that was in b19 and put it in C9, and the wire already in C9 leave disconnected. Also you may have your O2 sensors reversed, cuz there are 2, check out Hondata they tell you what you need to do about those o2 sensors.
     
  5. Jdubspeeds

    Jdubspeeds Senior Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Tacoma Wa
    What ecu are you using? Should be a b16a PR3 or equiv.
     
  6. sleepn_accord

    sleepn_accord Senior Member

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    We're using the PW0 ecu. Still can't figure out why it's doing this... :angry:

    Is it possible that since I'm getting a VSS (17), (coincedently the speedometer isn't working) could that be the reason that I'm getting the VTEC-related codes and VTEC isn't spooling?

    :worthy:
     
  7. SleEPeR_CRX

    SleEPeR_CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C. canada
    is solenoid working properly, thats the 1st place to start.
     
  8. bryan

    bryan Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    the vss could be your problem the computer has to have a speed signal of 20mph before it engages vtec
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page