1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A => B18C5

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by VtecedEG, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. VtecedEG

    VtecedEG Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Hi, I have a 92 EG Civic Si from Australia. The car originally came with a d16a8 twin cam non vtec 1.6 engine which i took out and swapped in a b16a from a 94 JDM EG6 SiR. I chanegd EVERYTHING from the EG6 frontcut into my civic, including the loom, computer, engine, gearbox, gear linkages, radiator.. basically everything. The car now runs fine with the 170ps B16a but i am considering changing a 1.8litre DC2 Type R engine.

    I am curious, i am able to get my p30 b16a ECU rechipped with an aftermarket b18c5 Type R program. If this is the case what do i need to do the swap? Is it as simple as merely changing just the Engine and Gearbox? Do I need to change engine mounts? radiator? etc etc?

    Also what is the difference between a B18C5 and a B18C7? Are there any other models for the Integra DC2 Type R engines?

    Any suggestions or information would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    You can get a P28, or your P30 chipped to riun the ITR just fine. You cn just pull the B16 and put the ITR in using the ITR's harness, it will plug right in and you will have a few wires to deal with, but nothing big.

    As far as the dif. between the B18C5 and B18C7, nothing, we have the B18C6 in the Europeon ITR's, they're the same just stamped different for the region.
     
  3. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    no real difference, and yes the best option would be the P28 with a ITR base map and then hondata.
     
  4. VtecedEG

    VtecedEG Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    ok thanks heaps for your help, so basically i can get a b18c5 (or b18c7 for that matter) and drop it rite in using the same engine mounts i have for the b16a. And for that matter i can keep the p30 ECU and rechip it with an aftermarket b18c program. So essentially its hassle free other than a few wires under the bonnet?

    thanks again for your help, much appreciated.
     
  5. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    thats right .... if you already have the B16 in and running correctly then you are all set just swap the engine/tranny/harness to the type R shit
     
  6. VtecedEG

    VtecedEG Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    yep the b16a has been running in the car for few months with no trouble at all, thanks heaps for your help. one last question, what kind of wires will i have to deal with?





    cheers.
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I couldn't find the thread I was looking for that explains exactly, so I am not exactly sure. It's on Honda-tech, but I can't find it.
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if the harness for the ITR engine is the same style as the engine thats in there now (RHD im guessing) then all you should have to do is plug it in as far as i know :unsure: :hmm: :shrug:
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I was thinking I read something about a crank angle sensor, and a couple other small things,
     
  10. allgo

    allgo Senior Member

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    so, the obd2 engine harness will plug straight up to the obd1 interior harness???? i little confused! for another example, let say u have obd1 b16 and swap an obd2 b18c in, all u need to do is swap the engine harness which is obd2,(what about the distrubuter and ecu) totally confused????
     
  11. illmatik

    illmatik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    if you get the B18C5 how much would you sell your engine for? and how much miles you got on it?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page