1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a eg

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by jgpoirier, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    As the title says I am putting a B16A into my EG.

    Curious about the vacuum diagram does anyone have a diagram that has all the vacuum lines neccesary. And also the intake mani that I have doesn't have a spot for the fitv? Do I need it?

    Thanks,

    Guy
     
  2. btk2334

    btk2334 New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    there is like 3 vacuum lines, most should be self-contained on the engine.... although the JDM B16A that i got had a firewall mounted MAP sensor which i just kept my old map sensor and spliced a vacuum line to it... other than that, its realy only like 2-3 lines.... FPR and that kinda stuff.... its not like a boosted car or anything
     
  3. btk2334

    btk2334 New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
  4. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Thanks man,

    I am still really curious how it is that one would bypass the fitv?

    Thanks,

    Guy
     
  5. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Block off plate and connect the two coolant lines together. Why do you want to bypass it? It controls idle when the motor is cold (lets it idle higher)
     
  6. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Cause I don't want to go buy another throttlebody again and the IM I have is super clean looks brand new. I guess I'm saying that I'm lazy and don't want to go search around in Pick-N-Pull for a FITV capatable TB in minus 30 degree celcius weather...LOL.
    Are you saying that I should put a block off plate on the FITV, hook it up and let it hang there? Or are you saying that I need to put a block off plate on the IM or the TB in the location that the FITV would install to... because I don't have a location for it.

    Thanks,

    Guy
     
  7. btk2334

    btk2334 New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    hmmm isnt the fitv on the mani.... or does the throttle not have coolant passages for it?
     
  8. btk2334

    btk2334 New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    I just so happen to have the manifold off a B16A, since i just replaced mine with the Skunk2 Intake manifold.... if you just need a manifold
     
  9. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    From what I know there are two different versions.
    1) For the underside of the TB
    2) Underneath the TB on the IM, like the IM i pulled my TB from.

    Do you live in Canada?

    Thanks,

    Guy
     
  10. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Your aftermarket (I'm guessing) Throttle Body should have a line in and line out nipple to connect to on the bottom.....right? You should just have to hook up the coolant lines (and install a TPS sensor) But you will need to keep your foot on the gas pedal to warm it up (ESPECIALLY in the temps you are talking about)

    In terms of a B series FITV....it is on the Throttle Body (mounts to the bottom of it). I cannot speak for all cars but all Honda motors I've seen have the attached to the Throttle Body.

    OBD2 B series Throttle Bodies do not have a FITV.....Instead idle at cold start became something controlled by the OBD2 ECU.
     
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    I ran a bored 99 SI throttle body on mine.. no fitv.. worked fine
     
  12. wikedeye

    wikedeye Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    Savannah, Ga.
    Yeah I dont have an fitv on my b16. It is in an ej, but same thing pretty much. I do not have any problems at cold idle.
     
  13. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Guys do it...not sure about those colder temps though.

    There are people that don't warm their car up at all and they don't think twice about it. I disagree with them
     
  14. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Believe it or not but I pull the TB from a DA four door and the FITV was on the mani. Can't remember maybe off a b18a1. And yes its freaking cold up here. I might just run without it for now until I find a new TB. Thanks man.

    eg6sir/wikedeye- Just clarifiying, I just connect the two coolant lines that would be running through the FITV if there was one?

    Thanks,

    Guy
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    If there is supposed to be a fitv and u don't have one it will cause a vacuum leak...the one I used had the nipples to connect coolant lines.. just no fitv
     
  16. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Correct....eg6sir said it was off a B16A2 that he bored out.....like I stated earlier on the OBD2 TB's. I have seen aftermarket ones with the same nipple set up.

    OP: Is the Throttle Body you have now OBD1 and has the 3 threaded spots for bolts that hold the FITV?

    I have a OBD1 JDM B16A complete TB w/FITV and TPS. It just needs your MAP sensor, the 3 bolts to connect the FITV to the TB (cheap) and 3 new rubber o-rings for the connection from FITV to TB (cheap) I have no need for it so, if you want it, shoot me an offer and I'll ship it to you.
     
  17. jgpoirier

    jgpoirier New Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    No the TB is bare on the bottom no spot for FITV bolts. Unfortunately. PM'd.

    Thanks.
     
  18. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    Post a pic of it
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page