B16A Into a 89 DX CRX Problems.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

tdaddylove

Hey all, I'm a newbie to the board. I have a couple questions. I got a second Gen b16a this I've already dropped in my CRX. Now since the car is a DX i already did the conversion to mpfi. My question is that after all the research I've done on the net I keep on running into problems that nobody else seems to mention.

My first problem was that I needed to get an integra engine post on the drivers side so it would line up to the mount. So the engine and everything else lines up good.

Second I found out that I can't use the b16a's injectors because they are obd1 so I put in 89 Si injectors. Also I used a newer prelude resistor box for the mpfi swap.

I then bought an obd0 b16a distributor since the distributor that came with the engine had a big old gray connector. The distributor bolted right up and I ran the extra two wires to the ECU like noted.

I have a pr3 ECU but I am going to test to see if the car runs with my old integra ECU for my zc motor.

My main problem now is that the alternator on the engine doesn't plug up to the DX wiring harness. I was told that I can use the DX alternator but I will have to swap the pulleys because the b16a has 4 teeth on the pulley not 3. Just wondering if anyone can clarify this.

Well, this is what has been done so far. Just wondering if anyone can give some info or some help. Or any links with great detail.

Thanks,

Tim

Thanks for the info. I also have a question as to what to do with the throttle cable. I got an integra one for the swap and i was told that i have to cut off 4 inches. how do i get it to hook up on the end then? Do you weld or solder the knob back on?

Also i realize that the si injectors aren't the best ones for the swap. Just curious as to what would be the best injectors to get. I assume the non obd b16a ones would be them. Thanks

Tim