1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a into ef sir!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by r3alklas1km3x1kanz, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Help!
    i have a b16a and im putting it into my 89 hatch ef sir! I have shift linkage, ecu, mounts. I put the motor in the car but now the wires do not match up im not sure if im supposed to get some extensions or if im missing wires please write back if you could be of any help! Thanks!

    also im running a p28
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  2. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    if you have an SiR it will have the wires already in place and you can use the stock mounts for the B16

    but if you have the Si you will have to add wires for the knock sensor, vtec, and extra o2 sensor

    also if you had a dx/std that was DPFI theres the stuff that needs done like the SI, but you also have to wire for MPFI.

    what ECU are you running and what model or engine was in the car previously?
     
  3. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    the car is an 89 SIR hatchback...
    i previously had a d15b vtec in there and now i dont know why the wires dont match on the b16 but they dont it looks like some are missing im not sure...
     
  4. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    sounds like your car was converted to OBD1 are all the plugs off the firewall rounded.

    worst case use the engine harness of your old motor

    What ecu was it running and do you have any pictures of the plugs and and whats not matching up?

    If you run OBD1 change the ecu and distributor, and of course you have to do a 4 wire o2 sensor as well. Unless the B16 you got was already obd1.
     
  5. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    http://hondaswap.com/hybrid-ed-ef-da/b16a-swap-into-ef-sir-269871/

    please dont double post the same question
     
  6. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  7. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    ok.. then you need to run the OBD0 ecu.

    if your running a P28 that is OBD1
    So if you have a jumper harness unplug it.
    if its hardwired, rewire or buy a jumper(much easier)

    and are the engine bay plugs different what plugs are wrong?
     
  8. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  9. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    does it have different plugs than your p28?
    ECU Identification

    and yes it should be obd0
     
  10. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    ok so i can use the p28 but i have to take the harness around the motor off and then hook up a jumper harness instead right?
     
  11. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    NO the P28 is either on the jumper now or is hardwired. Since you said its already plugged in or was plugged in for the previous motor.


    OBD0 and OBD1 ecu's are do not work with each others distributors.

    PWO requires everything to be obd0 which the engine is currently. find a way to properly hook it up to the car. you can use your old engine harness but you will have extra plugs for the o2 which you will likely splice out for the 2 1-wire o2 sensors. then you have to modify the distributor plugs to match up for the obd0 distributor. you will also have to run an injector resistor for the injectors.

    P28 (it will need chipped) and you have to replace the distributor with an OBD1 unit and use a 4 wire o2 sensor and wiring a knock sensor if you choose. make sure to run an injector resistor if you run the obd0 injectors

    please read a few articles related to swappign in the FAQ section, it will be very usefull to have some backround.
     
  12. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    also are you in the US or another country?
     
  13. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    damn i dont get it haha! but ok my old engine is gone and everything with it! i bought this b16 with everything even the p28 ecu...the pw0 was on my d15b vtec but i already sold it
     
  14. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  15. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    is your o2 sensor 4 wire?

    you need to get a jumper harness for the ECU and run the wires for the o2 and knock sensor.
     
  16. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    1. You'll need to get this smog certified if they even allow the swap
    2. I REALLY DOUBT YOU HAVE AN SIR. its not even us market.
     
  17. r3alklas1km3x1kanz

    r3alklas1km3x1kanz New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    how would i know if its and sir or not?
     
  18. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    VIN for one.
    (my starting vin may be off but your looking for ED/EF)
    JHMED is not SiR
    JHMEF is a good chance of being an Sir
    that too it had a d series in it, they only came with B16's. not to mention wrap around corner lenses and a whole list of other features. If your mounts are aftermarket, they wont have the same symmetry as the Sir mounts and wont bolt up.

    only way to get them here are as grey market imports really, or conversions.
     
  19. BrokenRex

    BrokenRex New Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    someone stuck an SiR badge on your hatch, let it go and focus on the problems at hand...
     
  20. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    he's been messaging me on yahoo, trying not to clutter up this for random questions. It is an Si model though for sure.

    pretty much he accidentally kept his p28 off his old car and he has at least 1 1-wire o2.

    I'm still trying to figure out if the distributor is OBD0 or 1 and if there's a conversion harness on the ecu plugs or not.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page