1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a Jdm or not?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Bns773, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I have a JDM b16 2nd gen in my car with a cracked block so I ordered a long block and got it today. It looks totaly different than the one that is in my car. The intake and fuel rail are different and says p-3 everywhere instead of p-30. I thought that the USDM had a number behind the B16a (B16a2,a3). Has anyone had this problem or seen this before? Also does anyone know if there is a place to look up the S/N under the engine code to tell which B16 it is?
     
  2. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    a lot of times they will have spare parts laying around at places where they sell engines. they prolly just put one together for you using USDM and JDM parts.
     
  3. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    PR3 means casting from the ITR head, minus the port for your motor.


    JDM wise, it won't say the series as in 2 or 3.......after the b16a......
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    serial numbers are pretty meaningless unfortuantely.

    pr3 casting is a b16. p30 is just the ecu code, and minsor stuff like oil pans...

    im confused by what you're asking. did you order a usdm and think you got a jdm?
     
  5. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah I wanted a JDM and was wondering if it was a USDM. I got that all sorted out but now I can't tell which b16 it is. The stamp on my head that is in the car says pr3-3 and the new one says pr3-4. My old fuel rail is a stright flat rail, the new one has a weird thing on the end where the fuel line connects (almost like another filter) and is round. All the connectors are grey but the S/N starts with a one not five. Also the A/C bracket does not have a mount that bolts to the body. If anyone can help I would appreciate it.
     
  6. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,961
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if it says "B16A" with no number after the A then its JDM
     
  8. assman

    assman Senior Member

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    the b16 u have in ur car is a 2nd gen the one u juss bought is a 1st gen, my engine has the same thing at the end of the fuel rail. and its a 1st gen b16
    thats all i can think of
     
  9. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,961
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    just check the plugs if you want to know the OBD

    injector plugs
    distributor plugs

    they are different for each OBD gen
     
  10. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...

    when i bought my 2nd gen it had a 1st gen fuel rail and fuel pressure regulator. 1st gens have that extra vacuum crap on the manifold. does yours??
     
  11. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    No the intake looks the same it's just the fuel rail and the markings on the head that are different (pr3-3 and the new one says pr3-4).
     
  12. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    if it doesn't have the bracket that bolts from the a/c mount to the chassy it's a 1st gen, more than likely.
     
  13. Bns773

    Bns773 Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I thought that the first gen had white connectors not grey connectors? If it is a first gen would my wiring harness fit? Also there is no distributor on it so I can't check the plugs from it but how do you check the injector plugs? Should I post some pics?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page