1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A OBD1 - How to check engine light

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Jayamashey, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Stupid question from a novice.

    I did a B16a OBD1 swap. Since I don't have the plug (normally in the EG's and up) to check the engine codes. How do I do it? What pins do I need to cross?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    why dont you have the plug
     
  3. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Its an EF so I don't have it. What are you supposed to jump the Service Connector pin to?
     
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It would help to know what car it's in...


    I'm guessing it's an 88-91 since you said it doesn't have the service connector...

    if you converted to OBD1, didn't you use a jumper harness? On the harness there should be 2 wires that you use to check the CEL...
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well ill have to double check in the day light, i installed a plug on my ef, but untill then bump everone
     
  6. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I posed that mere seconds after you posted...lol


    you jump it to itsself. On the service connector there are 2 wires, one of them is a ground and the other goes to...well, i'm not really sure what it goes to, but you ground it in order to make the CEL on the dash blink.
     
  7. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Its doesn't work. I have tried to ground the D4 Pin (Service Connector) but I don't get any flashes. The CEL just stays on.

    Its a P30 ECU for an OBD1 B16 in an '89 SI.
     
  8. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Does it run? And is it throwing a code (meaning is the light on when you don't have the service connector pin grounded)?
     
  9. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    It runs, but like crap. The light is always on except when the ECU is unplugged. Been reading it could possibly be a code zero. I am not sure though. Don't really want to pay for another ECU. If its a code zero what else could I check to diagnose? I fell like i have checked everything.
     
  10. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Exactly what I was thinking.


    I'm pretty sure you've got a bad ECU. I don't know that there IS anything else to check...find someone with a B16 ECU and plug it in, and see if it works. If the service connector pin is grounded and the CEL stays solid, that's a code zero though.
     
  11. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Thanks for the help. It was the ECU. Just bought a new one and it works well. Throwign a couple of codes but I will work on those. At leaset its running and not hitting a 3500 RPM limit.
     
  12. d.b.cooper

    d.b.cooper Mid-life Crisis Swap

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Metro Area
    I had the "always on" CEL light once...

    in my case, a bump in what passes for a road in Gilbert, actually dislodged the ECU chip inside my case. I plugged it back in and it worked fine.
     
  13. Jayamashey

    Jayamashey Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    The ecu that I had turned out to be OK.The chip inside was put in backwards by the original owner. The notch in the chip always has to face the ECU plugs.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page