1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A overheating in DA

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Mattyg2, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    b16a in a 91 integra, the fans worked when i had the b18a in and now with the b16 the fans won't come on so the it overheats when its idle. How do you bleed the b16, I'm used to bleeding the coolant on the b18a with the bleeder bolt, but i have no clue on how to with the b16a is there some type of bleeder bolt?. The fans are plugged in and everything. Replaced all parts for cooling system also: water pump,timing belt, thermostat,hoses,radiator. So, can someone help me?
     
  2. 88B16ASiR

    88B16ASiR Light Weight Junkie

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    there is a bleeder screw on the theromstat housing ...
     
  3. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Run the engine with the hood open and the radiator cap off. This will bleed out any air in the system. As far as your fan not coming on, make sure its wired correctly into the harness. If it worked before, it should work now. Try putting voltage from the relay to the fan wire and see if it comes on. If it does, than its a switch/relay issue. If it doesnt, than it could be the same problem PLUS a bad fan clutch or motor.
     
  4. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    Could be the temperature switch or coolant temp. sensor. If that doesn't solve your problem just wire the fans direct and to the ignition switch which fans will always be on once ignition key switch is on. To make sure that the fans are working run 2 wires positive and negative to the battery just to make sure that the fans aren't seized up. Good luck on that.
     
  5. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    I'm going to try to take my switches from my b18a and see if they work, but the b16a came out of my other car and the fans and everything worked fine! so i don't understand it, and i don't want to wire the fans to always be on because that is really annoying to me and is a tacky way of doing it
     
  6. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    You can wire the fans to an rpm activated switch, that way it will only come on when your rpm is at idle. Or you can just do what everyone else does and run a switch for the fan so you can turn it on whenever you feel the need to.
     
  7. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    i want it to run as stock as possible, no hacked up wiring for fans to come on and such, i don't want to deal with pressing a button for it to come on. I'll get to work on it asap
     
  8. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Than verify the problem, fix it and make sure it is working properly. What else can I tell you? Get the wiring diagrams and schematics from a local shop, offer than 10 bucks for the printout if they are jerkoffs and begin routing all the wiring.
     
  9. 90DATeggy

    90DATeggy The Pussi Snatcher

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    damm in totally LOSTED
     
  10. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    i fixed it, fans are working, thanks everyone;) i just need to fix the vtec now getting a code 22 and 23
     
  11. freak86

    freak86 New Member

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southwest Michigan
  12. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    I really have no idea, they finally came on after i bled the system and i re plugged them in, but i can't figure out this code 22 and my vtec wire is grounded and is plugged in the solenoid!!! so annoying
     
  13. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    i tried 3 different ground places and it was clean and snug and i still keep getting a code 22
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page