1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A running rough. (NOT IACV)

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by johnOBD, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    B16A running rough. (NOT IACV) SORTED!!!!! ;-)

    Hi guys god this car is doing my head in, as posted in another tread vtec not kickin in. apart from that the car is running rough , low idle and when open the throttle slightly the car starts hunting (high low idle)

    things i have tried .

    Checked the wiring for iac thats fine battery voltage and varible earth from ecu .

    fitted new IACV NO joy there :huh:

    cel code still 14 :huh:

    STILL IS BREAKING MY BALLS!!!

    John.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  2. Blakwolf9666

    Blakwolf9666 Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
  3. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    thanks for link mate , but i have also tried that :( .

    also forgot to mention , when driven the car at low rpm (under 3rpm changin to correct gear ) car starts chuckin like fuck....
     
  4. Blakwolf9666

    Blakwolf9666 Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    wow lol that sucks not much else i can think of other than what everyone else says as far as those two valves and maybe vacuum leak somewhere
     
  5. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    SUCKS for sure man . thanks anyway
     
  6. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Checked your ignition timing? check your TPS?
     
  7. Blakwolf9666

    Blakwolf9666 Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    my only other suggestion would be to keep looking around or wait till someone comes up with an answer lol you could try the honda-tech forums or if you need it fixed now take it somewhere and see what a mechanic says your choice sucks it couldnt be one of the easy fixes lol
     
  8. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    if TPS wouldnt it come up on fault code?also what about knock sensor could this cause problem altho again fault code would show that id imagine?


    cheers John.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  9. catdaddy77

    catdaddy77 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    I had a similar issue a while back, there is a way to adjust the idle with the ecu electronically not just adjusting it by hand, the helms shows you how.
     
  10. 8secHonda

    8secHonda New Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    i had a tps go bad but didnt show a code, nvr heard of it happening but it did to me, w no cel on..
     
  11. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    ok guys ill test the TPS tomorrow . hope too feck something turns up.
    car is due for testing thursday..
     
  12. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    tested the TPS today seems to be working correctly supply 5volts , good earth , also varible voltage 0.5-5volts . KNOCK SENSOR??
     
  13. hfcrxb16a

    hfcrxb16a New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    I am having this exact same problem to the T and have been dealing with it since i got the car.It makes no sense.I changed iacv,then i tore apart my entire harness following the wires,bled air from the cooling system,swapped plugs,checked for vacuum leaks,adjusted idle.nothing has worked.
     
  14. hfcrxb16a

    hfcrxb16a New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    oh ya and its not the ecu cuz i tried changing that
     
  15. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    oh shite man i thought i was solo on this. tell me more did you do motor swap??? i dont know what my prob is . but i will sort it out IF IT FECKING KILLS ME!! i refuse too let anyonelse look at it now .
     
  16. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    what model B16 is it?
    What Ecu are you running?
    any other power adders or modifications?
     
  17. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You can also check the FITV (if you have one)

    With the motor at a good running temperature, take the intake pipe off and feel the lower hole inside the throttle body (on the outside of the butterfly). If you feel suction and it makes the car idle better, its the FITV.

    And you check the wiring on the IACV? Have you tried to unplug the IACV at running temp and see what the idle does? If rpm doesn't go down....the IACV is bad or the wiring for it
     
  18. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    hey man.

    B16A JDM motor from EG2 crx del sol

    P30 ECU

    no mods.
     
  19. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    i checked the wiring at IAC there is 2x 12volts :huh: ?? also unplugging it makes no diff to Idle . but yet i have tested the iacv for continuity 11ohms and insulation infinity. so it seems the ecu is not sensing electercal loads ther-fore
    not supplying an earth for IACV. the car failed its annual test thursday , because emissions could not be checked as the car WOULD NOT hold 2500rpm . i think i may have 2x problems . the engine was running fine before i did the swap , so it is something i have over looked. :( other sensors i have tested are , TPS and MAP all check out fine

    thanks for replying guys.
     
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    No change in the IACV could be the IACV Helm's says that the idle should fall to about 400rpm or it could even die. If its staying at high idle.....I would look into borrowing one or hitting up a recycler/junkyard for a used one. There's a ton of them out there to try. Sometimes a cleaning isn't enough. It "probably" not the wiring on the IACV because it would throw a code if it was loose. And check the FITV....if you have one.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page