1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a swap EG VTEC not WORKING, how to fix?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by dc2dropx, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. dc2dropx

    dc2dropx Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    hey, i was wondering if anyone knew how to fix my vtec problem
    b16a swap wit p30 ecu. vtec doesnt seem to work. maybe only in first gear. engine check light appears after 6000 rpm. could it be my o2 sensor? vtec solonoid or it's not picking up the oil pressure for vtec to hit?

    thanks
     
  2. Iquark

    Iquark Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    A good thing to check are the three main things VTEC needs to work:

    First is Oil Pressure

    Second is that the car must read that you are in gear.

    Third, It must know that you are going somewhere over 20 or 25 MPH (I don't know for sure, but basically it needs to have a working spedo)

    There could be more, I can't remember, but these three usually will lead you to the problem.

    Ian
     
  3. b164gen

    b164gen Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    i was having the same problem, it you look ar your ecu it will throw lights (codes) mine was throwing a oil pressure switch code which is the vtec solenoid i and i would reset the batt. and every time i would enter the vtec rpm range the check engine light would come hope that helps
     
  4. MyLife24/7

    MyLife24/7 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    hey brotha mine wasn't working but you know what i took off the vtec solenoid. and the part that it sits on that connects to the head cleand the screen that was on the vtec solenoid and the one thats between the head & the part that the oil pressure switch scews in to a tot of six 10mm bolts now!! my vtec works fine i8 had used to 10w-30 instead of 5w30..oops . 11/11/2008.
     
  5. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Please don't bring dead threads back to life. It is 5 years old.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page