1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a swap for 500, not sure gen help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by labrunell, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. labrunell

    labrunell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    just picked up a b16a swap for 500 bucks but not sure what gen it is. the guy didnt know and it has the 1st gen valve cover with the big dohc and small vtec lettering, it has the 1st gen pgm- fI stamped intake manifold but it is splice to the wiring harness which has gray connectors that hint it to be a 2nd gen. it did come with a hydro tranny so it makes me think its a 2nd gen but i'm not sure if it's a stock tranny because it's stamped ysk-2 and i thought 2nd gen b16a trannies were stamped ysk- 1. I also got a ton of parts with the motor like aftermarket headers, power steering pump, 5 axles, an extra d- series tranny, d- series msd cap, and an extra gray plug engine harness so i think i got a good deal, but i still wanna know what gen motor it is to see how much hp it's pushing and what ecu i need to get. also how long are the integra 90-93 axles ? i need to see if any of those axles will fit my 90 hatch with the b16. also the dude did say that 2nd gear grinded am i better getting a cable tranny and saving money by not buying expensive hydro motor mounts and hydro to cable actuator ? or go ahead and fix the hydro tranny ? i would rather go the cheapest way.
    All help is appreciated, thanks i dont know how to post pics so here's a link to my facebook where all the pictures to the motor are- Bruno Lagonell | Facebook
     
  2. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Sounds like a 1st gen motor converted to OBD1. I'm almost certian that all B16's use the same cams (except CTR) so power depends on what ECU you run.

    Use the axles and intermediate shaft from a 90-93 Integra but take the dust rings off the axles. And make sure your hubs will work with the axles.

    It would be easier and cheaper to find a good cable B16 tranny.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  3. labrunell

    labrunell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Should I buy a jumper harness to mate the obd1 engine harness to
    The hatch's obd0 main harness ? Or just rewire the motor with a obd0 harness ?
    Also would I have to order another distributor ? What ecu should I use ?
     
  4. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    It all depends on what you wanna do.

    My guess is that it came out of an EG or DC that's why it's OBD1 and on a hydro trans.

    I'm swapping an OBD1 B16 into my CRX now for the 10 extra horse vs OBD0. If it comes with the OBD1 dizzy then get a P30 ECU and 4 wire o2 sensor and do the wiring and you're good.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  5. Korax

    Korax New Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA
    I agree with everything except the ecu will make 10hp. The OBD0 EF9 SiR B16a has lower compression than all of the other variants. An OBD1 and up ECU may improve how it runs but that isn't the reason the OBD0 is rated at 160 hp and all the others at 170.

    I also second making it ODB1. Its hard to do any fuel tuning unless you convert it. You are going to have to find a dizzy for the OBD0 one as it sounds like it is set up for OBD1 if you don't convert. You can get a ECU jumper plug to use new ECUs.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. labrunell

    labrunell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    How would I hook up the obd1l engine harness to the car's stock
    obd0 main harness ? Do they sell a conversion harness ? What's the physical
    Difference between obo1 and 0 dizzys ? Also do I have to do any splicing
    To the fuel injection since the car comes stock with dual point injection ?
     
  7. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I didn't know that. Good to know ! :)
    You have to use your stock harness and convert everything else and do a MPFI conversion. Use Google. ;)
     
  8. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I have heard of OBD0 B16's converted to OBD1. But I thought they had different Intake manifolds.

    The head stamp should have a year on it too.....that'll tell you the OBD of the motor.
     
  9. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Just slightly different manifolds but you can still work with it fine.
     
  10. labrunell

    labrunell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    My head has a snmall circle with a 90 stamped in the middle , does
    That mean its a obd0 head ? Also is pr3-1 valve train good ?
     
  11. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Yeah, probably a first gen motor.

    All B-Series VTEC motors use the same valvetrain except the cams and valve springs are better on the CTR and ITR motors.
     
  12. labrunell

    labrunell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    What's the cheapest place to get a jumper harness from ?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page