1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a swap. Turns over/ wont start

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 34diesel34, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    I finally got my B16a into my 91 crx si. It's turning over but will not start. Everything is connected correctly, battery is fully charged, brand new starter, brand new plugs & wires, and I can hear the fuel pump when the key is in the on position. I'm using the same p28 ecu that I used on my sohc vtec obd1 conversion. I was using obd0 injectors with the resistor box when I had the sohc engine in. Since the B16a I have is obd1 and came with injectors I'm using those and removed the resistor box.What is the problem here?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  2. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    Today I spent $115 on a new ignition coil, new ignition rotor, new distributor cap. Then I changed the fuel injectors, spark plugs and wires. Worked on it from sun up to sun down and it still wont start:angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry::angry: This is some fucking bullshit. I wish I kepted my D16 in it
     
  3. LifeSucks88

    LifeSucks88 New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    did you check to see if it has spark?
     
  4. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  5. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    My engine is the obd1 jdm B16a sir2. I'm using the starter for a 95 del sol B16a2. Could this just be the wrong starter?
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You have spark at the plug wire? And its turning over....so I think it must be gas
     
  7. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    The fuel pump is working. I can hear it when I turn the key. I also disconnected the fuel line at the fuel rail, and fuel came pouring out.
     
  8. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    ...
    GET THE RIGHT ECU AND YOUR PROBLEMS GO AWAY
    p30 is the one you want...
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    So the obd1B16a will not work on a p28 ecu? I have heard people say that you could use a p28 ecu with the obd1 B16a.
     
  10. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    Like your sig, hit yourself in the head and go 'D'OH'

    did you do any type of research before you did this swap? not from 'friends,' but from actual places where people have done this and such?

    p28 is the SOHC 1.6vtec ecu...
    p30 is the DOHC 1.6vtec ecu

    that first letter makes all the diff
    get the right ecu and enjoy your new motor
    +rep
     
  11. Mr JDM

    Mr JDM New Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    it sounded like a fuel issue but considering your saying it isnt im going to go with RoughKnight and agree that you need the correct ecu
     
  12. LifeSucks88

    LifeSucks88 New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    just chip your p28 and down load bin file you need to make it work + you have more control over your ecu. i used a p06 converted to a p28 with crome on my b16a swap and it runs just fine.
     
  13. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I thought it would still turn over with a virgin P28?? Run like crap but I thought it start. I could be wrong but I have
    been told you can run a B Series on a Virgin P28 to (at least) run and make it to a place to have it chipped/tuned.

    Fuel Injectors are the ones that were on the D16Z6? I don't know all the ways to run the fuel injector conversion
    but if you had it working right before, the dohc should be set similar (Maybe OBD0 B16A injectors?)
    But it should still fire with that problem.

    Hell if you have access to a P72 or P30 (friend lets you borrow it) try it out and go from there.
     
  14. egeezy

    egeezy New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    ecu dont matter for the car to fire. run a ls, singlecam, gsr wtfe it will run. make sure your timing is on. arrows should both idicate up when the tdc ( white mark) on the crank comes around. if they are off it will sound like its turning over fine but wont have any compression
     
  15. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    I checked the timing at the timing belt 2 days ago. It was off. I adjusted it, cams and crank are lined up correct now. It still didn't start. Now Im just waiting on a P30 ecu to get here.I followed all the steps step by step in the haynes manual for timing belt tension. The timing belt seems like as more slack than it should. There's about an inch of slack in it on the sides.The haynes manual does not say how much slack is should be in the belt. does anybody know?
     
  16. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Thats too much slack IMO
     
  17. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    I got the JDM P30 ecu and it still will not start. It made no difference. $185 more WASTED down the toilet.
     
  18. LifeSucks88

    LifeSucks88 New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Post some pic's of your setup lets see what you have done. well since it wont start it time to check the wiring from the distributor to the ecu (P30) and see if they are in the right place here a ecu pin-out .:FFS TechNet : OBD1 ECU Pin out Schematics :. if the CYP or the TDC or CYP is mixed up it will not run.
     
  19. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    Here are just a few pics. I rather wait until it's running to add more pics because right now as far as I'm concerned it's just a fucking lemon.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I think its the dizzy. Can you tell us how you checked for spark?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page