1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a vtec error 15 and would not start

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by microshit, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Heyy ..!!Ive got a b20b whit a b16a vtec head and b16 tranny..!! ^_^

    Once i was driving and the car spontanyously STOP..! and wouldnt start ..!!

    Ive check every thing... spark plug fuel railing,cap dis... fuel pressure..!!
    Somme time i crank it ,,!! it`s starts but i seams like it`s running on 2 ou 3 piston..!! if i give gass i doesint go hi on rpm and runs like a harley davidson and stalls.!!
    I dont really know what to do..!! sometime the ecu gives me the 15 error code which is a Ignition Output Signal but my ignition seams to work well since the starter is actually turning :confused:..!???! I dont know what to do and i cant bring it to the garage coz it wont run..!
    Im gettin spark.. mabe it`s not a good spark or it`s probably a ground some were or a sensor of somme kind..!!!
    Cannn somme one explain in detail what the hell is the Ignition Output Signal error code and HOW can we fix it..!!! ive look out tru the web but i hazzint help me allot..!!! Ive seen stuff about ignition key panel taken off and replace the ignition thenn ive seen stuff about running a wire from ur positive batteri to the neutral cluthc of whatever..!:huh:!

    Cann somme one help me PLEASEEEEEEEE^_^
     
  2. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Did you check to see if the plugs were fouled or loose? The plug wires may be loose as well, or if its mis-firing, it could be that the order is wrong or the wires are arching. Last resort, get a new distributor.
     
  3. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Can a bad dist give a error 15 on the ecu?
     
  4. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    The sensor is what sends the signal to the ecu, not the distributor. But when the ecu notices a significant decrease in voltage output, it will illuminate your CEL. Could be caused by many things, but the most common one I would say would be the distributor.
     
  5. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Okay ill try that..!! i have a integra whit a b18 can i take the dist from that?? or i really need a b16 dist?
     
  6. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Your ecu has to match the distributor (obd-?). From there, if your ecu is obd1, you will need an obd1 b16 distributor and vice versa.
     
  7. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    And if it`s not that what shoul i look for after ?
     
  8. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    You can use a b18 non vtec distributor but you would need to cut off a leg to bolt it up and will only be able to use one bolt hole. If it is a b18c it will bolt up just fine.

    Ya make sure it is an obd level that matches the car.
     
  9. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ

    Check all of those I mentioned... -^
     
  10. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    my motor is a b16a vtec... what car model should i ask for the dist..?
     
  11. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    This will 'work' but the timing will always be slightly off. You'll never get the motor properly timed when your hitting it with a timing light.

    Most of the time when i've had to deal with a code 15, 9 times out of 10 the culprit is always a burned out ignitor. check that out as well before you spend some cash on distributor. You can use the ignitor from your b18 distributor in your b16 distributor if needed. Don't confuse the ignitor with the coil, some people think the coil and ignitor are the same part lol.

    AutoZone.com | Shopping | Parts | Product Detail - Control Module-Ignition <--- Ignitor

    AutoZone.com | Shopping | Parts | Product Detail - Coil - Ignition <--- Coil

    Also, my friend had a code 15 pop up two nights ago, turned out that the black wire with the yellow stripe on the distributor broke off from the spot it plugs into. Soldered it back and it's working fine again. Check out all the easy possible culprits so you don't go wasting cash.
     
  12. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Okaaa ive change the ignition control module from my b18 to my b16... and the car still not start..!! it still gives me the 15 error..!!i dont know what to do..!!! theres gas AND there sparks..!! what the fuck is rong whit that..!!The wires are setup corectly....

    What else??should i look for:confused:
     
  13. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Okaaa ive change the ignition control module from my b18 to my b16... and the car still not start..!! it still gives me the 15 error..!!i dont know what to do..!!! theres gas AND there sparks..!! what the fuck is rong whit that..!!The wires are setup corectly....

    What else??should i look for:confused:
     
  14. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Okayy... ive took the dist. from my b18 took the grinder and grind one of the 3 legs off..!! ive been able to put one screw. the top one..!! Replace the rotor at the exact same position as the other one..!! Ive try to start the car but still doing the same thing..!!
    and STILLL gives me the error 15 ..!!!
    What else could this be?
     
  15. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Okaye...this is going to sound really weird, but its happened on my friends ITR hatch. He was driving it, it shut down and would not start back up.

    Now, goto the relax box under the hood. Remove the fuse for the ECU. Look at it and see if it has popped. If it has, replace with the correct amperage fuse and try to start the car with another car and jumper cables or simply use a jump box.
     
  16. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    gettin piss off of this fucking error code 15 b16a

    Did i mention that from the day that the car stalled i have been able to REstart the car 4 out of 50 ..!!!( AND this whit the OLD distributor) So if it was to be the distributor..!! if it`s burnt its finish..!!!You would need to replace it or replace the electrical componants coil OR AN ingnition controle module OR rotor and blaa blaa blaaa..!! But why was i able to restart the dam thing..!!!
    THe more and more i fool around un the dam car the more im suspecting a mal connection..! BUT WERE..!
    I took soome tape off and somme wire case off and too a look if there was any flaky connection.. and it looks fine to me..!! What should i look for?? for a error 15 shoul i concentrate on the distributor or shoud i look for connection furter up?:confused:

    I did try the fuse box under the hoodd... They were okay..!!..!!! i took soom from my acura of the right amp and replace 2 just to see any diference whit no succes..!!

    Everywere on internet the say error 15 is the distributor..!! MABE a mal connection is my probb... wicth wire should i follow to the computers car to test..?? if somme one could help me on this..!! explan to me the color of the wire i should do a continuity test to the computers car..!! IF you have pictures or diagram it shoul help me alot..!! i did found somme on internet but i just wanna make sure of my shoott..!!

    And heyy thaks to every one for helping me on this i apreciate it :p
     
  17. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Take the car to a service shop and have them test your charging/starting system. That will find your problem easily if its not starting due to ignition related problems. Most shops have a VAT-40. snap-on just came out with a new machine, its so easy to use and it tests every component in the charging/starting system without having to directly connect it to each component. Pretty nifty, and idiot proof too.

    Spend some money and have the problem diagnosed by a certified technician.
     
  18. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    All right ill do that :p

    THaks for all your help :p
     
  19. ontheground

    ontheground New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    placerville CA.
    check the roter in the old distributor. I had that same problem, had spark had fule, but no start. The allen head screw that holds the roter on the shaft had shorted out and melted a little bit. so all my spark was jumping out in my distributor.
     
  20. microshit

    microshit New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Did u just change the screw or ???
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page