1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A2 & D16Y8 TB question

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by sula, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. sula

    sula Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Does anybody knows if those engines has the same TB width...?

    I'm asking because I wonder if could put AEM V2 which has been installed on b16 to my d16...

    Thanks...
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    It won't fit. B series and D series things aren't interchangable.
     
  3. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    isnt it attatched to teh TB by a silicone coupler? if so, then size doesnt matter unless you are going to somethign bigger; then you will have a slightly harder time putting it on, but it should work. Is this intake going into the same car (ie: 95 civic - 95 civic)?? As long as nothign is abstructing the path of the intake in either car, you should be ok.
     
  4. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    well I don't think it'll fit anyway. The y8 is a 58mm TB and the a2 has a 60mm TB.
     
  5. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC


    Didnt he say he wanted the B16 V2 to go on a Y8 TB? or did I red it wrong? if this is the case, a tightened clamp will take care of the unfilled space btwn the TB and coupler. It should be fine.

    Go test it out dude. Why would you ask if you dont have both of the TB's at your disposal?
     
  6. wanderinman

    wanderinman Senior Member

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC



    Since the V2 is a cold air, the routing will be interesting if its for the wrong car... but as far as fitting the TB there should be no problem at all.
     
  7. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003


    That's also what I was hinting at. I don't know if the CAI is routed the same way on Si's vs the EXs.
     
  8. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    well I pointed out the fact of the routing in my first post I beleive. He didnt specify the car, only motors.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page