1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A2 into a 94 EX Civic

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Deckard, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Hello,

    I will be picking up a 94 EX next week and I already have a B16A2 from a 00 Si; I need some wiring help. I need a engine harness, would the 94 EX work? I dont imagine, but I thought I would ask. Would a OBD2 EX work?

    I am gonna use the stock Si computer until I get a Hondata S200. Would I need a jumper?

    Also, what throttle cable would I need, or would the D16s work?


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    this will be pretty much the same as my B18C swap in my 93 sol si

    you use your EX harness
    swap the plugs for the Alternator, Injectors, and Distributor
    lengthen a few wires for the other plugs that dont reach (O2 sensor and 1 or 2 others)
    the mounts you need are listed in the reference section (i used the Hasports so im not 100% sure what stock mix works)
    you will need a 3rd gen integra shift linkage
    you should use an OBD-1 P30 or chipped P28 ECU
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Find an obd2a (97-99) Integra GSR Harness... that is the easiest way to make it work... and that's what i did.
    No the d16 harness will not just plug in, the 00 Si harness will not plug in either.
    The obd2a GSR harness will work perfect for plug-and-play, nothing special needed, everything is plug and play, and it will save you time/money/hassle/time/time/tape/wiring/time/money.
    Use the d16z6's computer (p28) until you can find an obd1 p30 or get a socketed p28 and get a p30 chip... because using an obd2b computer in an obd1 car is a bad idea.
    Just use the p28 and take it easy until you can find the p30, or a socketed p28.
     
  4. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    I have the motor mounts from a JDM 98 ITR, are the motormounts for the DC2 and EG/Ej the same. I also have a Wiring harness from the 98 Spec ITR, would it sub for the GSR?

    Oh yeah does the GSR harness have a crank angle sensor?
     
  5. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    If you have a 98 integra Type-R harness, use that, it's exactly the same as the GSR, and it will work perfect.
    I'm not sure whether or not the type-R has CAS, but running obd1 computer (p28/p30) you won't need it.
    The motor mounts, i can't be sure of, i used this combo.
    Rear "T" mount bracket from 95 integra (used with existing civic Mount)
    Side Timing Belt Mount Bracket from 95 integra. (Used with existing civic mount)
    Top tranny mount and bracket from 95 civic Ex.
    Front tranny torque mount from 00 Si.
    I skipped the other torque mount.
    So if you have the mounts and brackets from the ITR, get the rear mount-T-bracket, and the timing belt mount-bracket from it.
    Some mounts will work from EG to EJ to DC, but i don't think they ALL will, and i am positive each one will need to swap some brackets.
     
  6. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    So the 98 spec ITR mounts work perfectly but the wiring harness is not matching up. The clips to hook into the two top sets of clips, the ones mounted around the strut towers do not work. Any suggestions? I think I am just gonna splice into the 94 EX harness.
     
  7. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Is the harness USDM?
     
  8. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    No JDM, stuff is backwards since it is RHD. We extended Some wires, it is a bit ugly. So would a USDM GSR/Type R be he one to get or maybe a Del Sol?
     
  9. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    USDM type R or usdm GSR harness.
    You only have to extend two wires for the Intake Air Temperature Sensor, and drill the sensor into your intake. (You will have to do that with any harness)
    I'm not sure if the 96-97 Del Sol harness would work, if it does, it would HAVE to be from the 96-97... you'll have much better luck finding a 96-98 GSR harness compared to a 96-97 Del Sol DOHC VTEC harness.
     
  10. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    If you use the Type R harness then you will also have to find a connector for the IAB and run that wiring assuming that you are using the stock B18c intake manifold.
     
  11. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Wh0a, he's using a b16a2.. don't confuse him!
     
  12. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    I just purchased a 98 OBD2A GSR harness. I am using a AEBS Intake manifold, modeled after the Type R. Am I going to have to drill?

    Swap So far:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Looks good.
    I don't know about the IM, but i wouldn't THINK you'd have to drill anything?
    You'll wish you put the harness on before dropping the engine in, but it'll be ok.
     
  14. sleepercivic

    sleepercivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    NC Mountains
    the Iat will mount on that manifold, you can barely see it in the pic its on the 3rd intake runner from the left,
     
  15. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Okay, looks like i need to get an IAT sensor, is it from a integra or Si?
     
  16. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I used a single cam IAT and drilled it into the intake pipe... i think they're all the same.
     
  17. Deckard

    Deckard Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    What shift linkage should I use? I have 98 Spec JDM ITR and my stock one? Or is it different one?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page