1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a2 Turbo cam choices...

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by Luis998, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    hey luis check out the car's specs in here http://www.evans-tuning.com/cars.html

    i notice the full race civic actually runs itr cams and is making 800hp..

    but maybe that can help you decide what you need
     
  2. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I'm thinking when it's all said and done I'll end up with a boost controller and two different tunes, one for the track and one for daily driving...which is what I will mostly be doing.

    Thanks for the link, YB. I'm going to check it out right now. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Your link =
    [​IMG]

    Nothing came up.
     
  4. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    uhhhhhh works for me..

    it has shop cars and featured cars. pick a section.
     
  5. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
  6. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Ditch the boost controller. Hacks FTL. One of the tuners I talked to said you could just put a dual socket in your ECU and switch between 2 tunes at the flick of a switch. This was with an ECU runnin a Crome tune, and controlling everything, no hacks at all.
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Ok newb but (and i'm gonna do this too) you still need a boost controller if you want to run the first profile on low boost (good for street) and the second on high boost (race).

    Logical?

    I'm going to use the 2timer and the double size chip like I am already (just using 1 profile now though, stock) and it's on a toggle. The boost controller will be off the toggle too
     
  8. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Why not let your ECU control your boost though?
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    maybe I havn't looked into it enough. I dont think the S200 does that. the S300 i know does. considering upgrading, but idk.. the s200 data logging works on my pda and that's sweet. a stand alone boost controller on the same toggle would work just fine. idk we'll see. if you want to show me the light, i'm listening :)
     
  10. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Lol, well Im all about Crome. Its free and its fully loaded. lol. I plan on runnin everything off the ECU, so its the perfect candidate. If your gunna spend the money on a boost controler, dont. Just get Crome and tune. Take a look at their site it can explain things better than I can lol.

    < C R O M E >
     
  11. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Lol salesnewb. The free version doesn't have data logging.
     
  12. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Sonofa...if the s200 doesn't do it then I may just use it for my lesser build and go with Crome for the bigger build. Eh, who knows. It would be nice to just have the ECU control everything. Then again, I have yet to figure out how a boost controller works exactly. All in due time I suppose. :D
     
  13. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    The only problem with boost controlers is all they do is control boost. Theyre blind to everything else the engine is doin.
     
  14. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    of course, but it can be meant to compliment the ability to change between tunes on the fly.
     
  15. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    True, but you can do that with the ECU also. But with the ECU everything gets adjusted. Boost, timing, fuel, all of it. If your gunna just slide your boost levels around, why even spend money on a full tune? Everytime you change your boost level on a single tune, your puttin yourself back to a base map status, maybe worse.
     
  16. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    That's why the boost controller you get is electronic with predefined levels. You have a tune for each level you define.

    And no every time you change the boost level without the a/f maps it won't go back to base map status, it goes to a more lean situation and detonation will occur.
     
  17. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    So your still paying for 2 seperate tunes, just like you would if the ECU controlled the boost. Plus you wastin money on a boost controler that you could spend on a program that would work better.

    Your missin my point. I don't mean your ECU is gunna return to a base level. I mean your just puttin the motor in a state where the tune is just good enough to run it. Like a base map.

    There's no advantage to a seperate boost controller. Rather you run Crome or the S300. Your still spendin the money on a controller, that could by the program. Your still gettin 2 tunes. And you still end up with a controller that blind to every other function of the engine.
     
  18. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    1 person likes this.
  19. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    I dunno man. Having somethin controlling your boost that doesn't even read the MAP sensor to check itself doesn't seem parallel to me. I suppose if you never change alltitude and the weather stays constant you could squeek by with one. I just don't see why you would wanna skimp on the final steps of a turbo build. It is a quick, easy alternative, but still, I just don't see it.
     
  20. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Both of you make good, valid points. I'm thinking that in the end I will talk with my tuner and let them decide. I know that I do want two different tunes/boost settings/whateveryouwouldliketocallit so I can drive on the street and have fun, then take it to the track if I make it that far and have fun.

    YB, rep! :thumbsup:
    newb, just like kayaks, I have to spread it around more. Thanks for the input as well. :thumbsup:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page