1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A3-P30 Into 1993 Civic Sedan LX

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by BLADE699, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    After weeks of research, I finally gathered consistent information for wiring, and what is needed for a B16A3-P30 Del-Sol Vtec motor swap into a EG Civic(Suppose to be done April 24th-25th).
    Everything looked good until today!:eek:

    -Found out last minute that i needed a 94-00 Integra shifter linkage for my setup? Because I have a Del-sol shifter linkage which apparently does not work on EG civics swapping in a B16a?

    -Second I got a quick glimpse of someone saying the stock EG(D15) throttle cable will not work with the B16 intake manifold due to length? Therefore needing a new new one or one from an Integra?


    Conclusion:
    Is there any "small" things that are going to keep popping up on me while i'm doing this swap? Alot of the write ups that i found are for JDM motors and people assuming all there stuff is from a 94-00 Integra. While all my stuff came directly from a 95 Del-Sol Vtec, It should technically be straight forward right?


    Suggestions will be well appreciated
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2673388
     
  2. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I don't know about the shift linkage but you might be right. Is it a USDM? I'm guessing so by the B16A3. You might need Acura B series shift linkage. I have a JDM B16A but I had an LS in before so i just kept it there and it fit right up to my b16 trans.

    What state are you in? I need a USDM p30 ecu. I have the JDM ecu but need USDM for California smog.
     
  3. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    you still need to wire for knock sensor, vtec solenoid, vtec oil pressure and I think one more wire because your 4 door isn't wired for vtec from engine bay harness to ecu. Its about 6 wires total but I could be wrong.

    can anyone chime in?
     
  4. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    I suppose i should have stated that "i'm a canadian" lol!

    My car is "Canadian" and yes the motor is USDM, me and my bro will be checking out the wiring harness to see if pins are ran to A4, D6, D3 for OPS, Knock Sensor and Vtec-S, just to see if it was pre-wired like some people say it is.
     
  5. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    P.S besides from all that, i basically got the motor from a wrecked 95 Del-Sol (front clip) and just took every single part from it possible (Mounts, Linkages, Harness, Power-S pump, Brackets etc)

    Technically speaking it should just go into an EG no problem right? Granted that i have the correct Shifter linkage.
     
  6. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    You try using the linkage yet or not?
     
  7. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    If the linkage doesn't work, integra linkage isn't too hard to find.

    I remember now that I heard once that ALL 92-93 civics were wired.

    So...yes, check the harness plugs and you can simply look at the VTEC solenoid...check those colors, find them on the harness clips to engine bay wires and see if they have a 'live' female clip to be connected to.

    If you do have them going into the cab...then all you need to do is run the knock sensor to the ecu (D3).

    Once thing I recommend is that you get a pin from some other clip (ECU clips are different and I learned the hard way) or you can massage the hole out and get another clip in there (what I did) but I recommend that you look into some old ECU clip from another OBD1 (I would think Only Honda but I could be wrong).

    This is pretty self explanatory but you cut the line long so you can connect you wire that came through the firewall. (its cheap and you'll feel better knowing its not coming out)

    Motor mounts right in (I suggest that you mount the two main side mounts first...then the back trans mount and the two sides are easy after that.

    Other then that....you just plug vacuum lines, radiator lines, heater lines, power to battery and ground to car (I have two grounds)

    I'm not sure about your fuel line but its an easy fix by getting a longer line (wont hurt and isn't too costly)

    Sorry I cant help you with the shift linkage. I was lazy and left my LS on and thought I'd see if it fit too. The B16 linkage is 'suppose to fit' based on the place that sold me my motor. My LS fit....its a b series so why wouldn't the B16...? The actually cabin shifter is straight while all Integras have a bend in them (thought they werre the same otherwise)
     
  8. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    when i said all 92--93 were wired....I meant for VTEC from the engine bay to the cabin plugs for the ECU
     
  9. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    I definitely confirmed that Del-Sol shifter linkages for B- Series motors do not fit any EG civics because they are too short. Hasport makes the B-Series linkages and the discription said:

    For:
    92-00 Civic
    94-00 Integra
    (Excluding Del-Sol)

    So ill be picking one up today, i start the swap in a couple of hours from now! nervous as hell, but "nothing ventured nothing gained" lol.

    I think im confident in the wiring arrangement, my brother is an electrician so im relying on him to make it all pretty and work lol.

    Thanks i'll let you guys know how it went, and ill be documenting it (video/pictures)
    I'm actually shooting a documentary called "Tracks For Streets" about street racers and any car enthusiasts using and finding tracks to race on, instead of doing stupid things on public roads.
     
  10. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    What i really meant, because we all get excited and speed every now and then, is there are people that actually do some dumb sh**t on the roads that endanger other people.

    Some info you guys might find funny and crazy, in Ontario, Canada they passed a 50kph over law, where if your caught doing 50kph over, with out first warnings or sympathy, suspend your license for minimum of 2 weeks, ticket you $3,000 - $10,000 for reckless driving and of course speeding, and impound your car in which you have to pay hundreds of dollars to get it back. Pending on the situation(actual street racing), they take your car, suspend your license for life, and crush your car as is, you could find photo's on google.

    My reason behind shooting this documentary is because cops usually hassle the wrong people, and lack knowledge of cars.
     
  11. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    93's arent wired for vtec
     
  12. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Thanks...I hear that too. Some people say differnet. I only thought it was EX and SI for years but some even say all 92's ar VTEC too
     
  13. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    Yea i read up on that too, only 92's were wired for vtec (ecu harness) but 93-95 aren't?
     
  14. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I guess not. you'lll be able to tell if you find VTEC wires off the engine harness and see if you have something connecting to it on the female clip (on passenger side)

    Look at wire colors on VTEC solenoid and Oil Pressure (right next to each other)

    Chase the color to a plug

    hold on I'll go look
     
  15. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Okay....I looked int he dark with my flashlight and VTEC wires go to the 14 pin plug on passenger side (My wire harness is off a D16Z6 1.6 SOHC OBD1 VTEC)

    green with yellow stripe goes to #one pin on engine harness

    Blue with black stripe goes to pin #4

    theres also a black wire but couldn't follow in the dark adn the dog started barking so I yelled at her adn came inside
     
  16. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    so if you're not wired...just do process of elimination to find the missing wires. Mate the B16 to your engine bay clips and see whats missing. They'll be a void on the connection side and, obviously no wire...just a rubber cap. check online for colors on your engine harness and go from there.
     
  17. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    yes 92's are but 93-95 arent. i have a 93 dx and had to run the wires for vtec

    not really needed. you can just run any color wire from the pressure switch and solenoid right to the ecu. but i believe the colors are blue/black, orange/blue, yellow/green. thats just off the top of my head though
     
  18. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Yes you could do that. And Your probably right about the wires colors. I couldn't see anything last night. You said and Orange/Ble one...maybe that was the 'black one' I thought I saw last night.

    Back to the wiring issue. I was just thinking in terms of seeming somewhat stock buy using the plug it goes to. He could use one wire loom and enclose all the extra lines through the firewall, to the ECU and the engine harness would stay in tack.

    Just my opinion though. I'm particular like that...sadly.

    Wondering whats up with the swap?

    Started Yesterday? Most likely...Wrenching as I write,.
     
  19. BLADE699

    BLADE699 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    Yea it was completed sunday, the shop i ordered a new clutch from gave me the wrong one(SOHC D16), so i had to install the old exedy one i got with it for now. Runs very smooth, but i have a check engine light, i can rev it over 6500RPM with out any issues.

    My friends got a OBD1 reader, so ill find out the codes its giving tonight. (Check engine light comes on after 10 seconds roughly of idling, but car still runs smooth)
     
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You don't need a reader. Look into it online. You jump the small plug under your glove box (with a wire or paper clip) and the check engine light will flash so many times (similar to morris code) and the numbers are available for free, online
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page