1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16crx help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by b16crxb16delsol, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. b16crxb16delsol

    b16crxb16delsol New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    i just picked up a crx wiht a b16 in it and the wiring is kind of hacked. lots of splicing and stuff. i think it is and si. it has a b16 in it and i ran all the vtec wires but it wont hit vtec. i let it warm up and everything. any one have any ideas on y it wouldnt hit?
     
  2. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    any check engine light?>
     
  3. b16crxb16delsol

    b16crxb16delsol New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    tps, engine cooant temp sensor, and vtec pressure switch. i reran the temp sensor and hte vtec pressure swithc and replaced the tps. idk if the wiring is wrong or wat because it was dpfi and it was converted to mpfi
     
  4. b16crxb16delsol

    b16crxb16delsol New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    ok i fixed all the loose wires and have my ecu code down to just engine coolant temp sensor. and i know i need that for vtec to work. but i cant figure it out. i have the one wire grounded and the other ran to the ecu where it needs to go. but its still throwing the code like its not working. any ideas?
     
  5. craftymatt

    craftymatt New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Sure it's an Si? When I did a b16 swap into my HF there was a wire going to the ECU that signaled when the car was in reverse. Whenever I put the car in reverse I would get a CEL showing code 6 and would be in limp mode (no VTEC, 7200 rpm rev limit). Just an idea, the HF has a wire for reverse, and also clutch and rear defrost I think. I pulled all of those wires out and the car has run flawlessly since.
    In my experience, when the honda ECU gets power/ground on a pin it doesn't expect, it freaks out and displays code 6. Since your wiring is crappy you probably need to go through every pin on the ECU and make sure there's nothing screwy hooked up.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page