1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B17A1 into CRX DX

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by lax1185, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. lax1185

    lax1185 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Update:

    So as of 4am last night, my car is up and running :D
    She has a couple problems though, I searched and didn't come up with anything. Anyone have any answers for me?

    I'm throwing a code 9...Cylinder 1 Position Sensor. I pulled apart my wiring and everything seems sound. Anyone have any ideas why that would be throwing?

    Also, my coolant temperature guage does not really work. I'm told that there are two coolant temp sensors on my block, and I only have one plugged in, I'm not sure how the other one goes. I'm using my stock CRX DX harness, I converted it to MPFI and OBD-1 VTEC (Had a wiring mess, but it actually wasn't too bad).

    I think I'm throwing another one but that's all I can remember for now. If anyone can help me that would be great. Thanks
     
  2. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Since money is not an issue but the 2 harness; it will make life a lot easier.
    (the dpfi to mpfi and the obd0 to obd1)

    Here is one option Hasport

    Here is a second option Ebay

    Here is a third option Google search
     
  3. lax1185

    lax1185 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005


    I'd love the Hasport harness, but it says "Customer Core Required to Build"...I don't have that kind of time :mellow:
     
  4. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    it takes a week.......i did it last week ...... or spend hours doing all the other wiring.....264 shipped back to you.... also take off the suspension on the teg for the crx....
     
  5. lax1185

    lax1185 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005


    Yea I'm going to...

    So no one has any other answers for me?
     
  6. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  7. lax1185

    lax1185 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Does anyone have information about the resistor box for me, though? Do I even need one?
     
  8. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    why not just swap the whole wire harness from the teg?
     
  9. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    that'd be hard and probably more time consuming than waiting on the new harness to ship from locash or hasport
     
  10. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs

    if you are going OBD1, you don't need the resistor box - you are going to need mount kit, shift linkage and axles
     
  11. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    resisitor box is only for obd 0 injectures which are called "peak and hold injectors" they use a resistor box to lower volatage so that the coils in the injectors dont burn out, the reason obd 1 injectors (which are called "saturated" injectors) dont need a resistor box, mainly is because the fuel is fed into the injector from the top which helps cool down the coils inside. and "resistor box injectors" feed fuel from the bottom and it doesnt cool the coils..... lol some dork payed attention in school last week!! :p

    so yeah, if you are going to use the engine as obd 1, then no you dont need a resistor box.


    i got a funny feeling, cause what year did integras convert to obd 1?? wasnt it 94?? i got a 92 integra GS and its obd 0. and the b17 came in 93 teggy's. so im not sure if tht was the year they changed to obd 1, i thought it was 94, but hey, im probably wrong so double check that!
     
  12. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs

    i had the same thought, since the B18A1 90-93 are OBD0 - that is why i worded it "if you are going OBD1"
     
  13. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Wrong, all cars 92-95 are obd1 regardless of what the motor cast is. Obd0 is 88-91
     
  14. racintweek

    racintweek Senior Member

    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    why not stay OBD0, do the DX-->MPFI, add V-TEC and run a B16 ecu?
    im sure the ecu can compensate for the .1l extra
     
  15. JKOBD.com

    JKOBD.com Wiring Guru

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Engineer at the Source
    Save time, money and get better service here:

    www.Rywire.com

    He uses my harnesses and has MPFI in stock.

    Jason
     
  16. DB2terp1298

    DB2terp1298 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    I dont know if you guys even helped him out really... I did the swap. B17a into a 91 CRX DX. Got the HASPORT wiring harness. Then bought the OBD0->OBD1 jumper. PR3 OBD1 ecu to go along with it. NOW.. car wont run.. just turns over. I got all the digrams. Wired up the sub-harness. Double checked it all... Does anyone have any idea WHAT THE PROBLEM CAN BE!!!!! :wallbash:
     
  17. JKOBD.com

    JKOBD.com Wiring Guru

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Engineer at the Source


    Any codes? What distributor are you running? Who did the MPFI wiring?
     
  18. DB2terp1298

    DB2terp1298 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    no codes... just wont start. OBD1 distrib but all the wiring was done by HASPORT. Has the sub harness comin through the firewall. i think the problem is in the OBD0->OBD1 ECU jumper. it has its subharness also, but i dont think its wired up sensor for sensor like HASPORT does all their shit. This jumper is pretty much for the VTEC.... any ideas?
     
  19. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004




    ok so all teggys 91-93 are obd 1??? hmm. why do they have clear plugs then?? anyone else backup projects claim? this is weird!



    and hey, start with the basics man, check spark and fuel and timing. you cant just say it wont start, whats the problem, if you have no clue how to do any of that, shouldnt have even walked into a swap! these things are almost expected
     
  20. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    :wtf: Thats not what I said :roll: , read my post again.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page