1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18 solenoid help / urgent

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by APEXi, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    i need ur help guys.... the plug on the IAB's solenoid on a b18c1, theres 2 wires comming off it rite.. a red/blue line and a black wire rite.... i kno that the red wire runs too pin A17 on my obd1 p72 ecu... can some one plz tell me where the other (black) wire runs to plz????

    thanx guys
     
  2. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    jdm p72 btw.
     
  3. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    is the black wire a ground wire or a posotive wire?
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    just a ground.

    unless your motor is obd2... then you need to switch the activation. this is covered int he swap articles forum.
     
  5. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    thanx for ur reply man, i read the artical but i aint good when it comes to wiring... so do i need to put the back wire to a 12V switched source as the motor is obd2?

    or do i need to switch the activation to a obd1 activation??

    im a lil confused, thanx
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    your using an obd1 computer, with an obd2 motor.

    the obd2 motor has the different activation than the obd1 motor does, so you will have to do everything that article states
     
  7. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    thanx for ur reply, would joining the black IAB's wire with the pin A25 12v wire be ok???
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    just ground it. it doesn't matter where... find a ground wire, and splice it in.
     
  9. APEXi

    APEXi Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    ground it?????? the artical said give it a 12V switched source :blink: :blink:
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    sorry, i was thnking about something else...


    from the article:



    do this.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page