b18a1 civic swap help

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

i have a 93 b18a1 in a 93 civic, when i first got it (already swapped) between 2500 3000 rpm its was doggy/ sputtery but would clear up as long as im over 3000 well this last week while driving hwy spd it dogged down serious power loss i push the cluch coast and rev it a lil and it clears up continuing to drive fine, next day same prob and now when im not on the gas after it warms up idle starts goin to shit then stall... fires right back up, stall... unless im giving it gas, driving is decent again until i let off the gas, ive been told coil or vac leak, but idk i need advice, and yes im new to honda's and know i need to find more info but ive been reading forums for 2 weeks n need specific advice... your help and time is much appreciated:confused:

As honda civics use a D-jetronic derivative injection system a vacuum leak would cause a high idle not stalling. Check your timing and ignition system. a coil going bad or a funky cap and rotor could cause this but I am leaning more towards a sensor or fuel issue. Do you have a CEL and have you checked for codes? Try cleaning your throttle body and idle control motor.

Well.....first and foremost....check engine light on? (Important to clarify)

Could be vacuum, MAP, TPS, IACV, Distributor, or a combo of things.

Vacuum can be checked with some starter fluid or carb cleaner. (making sure to be careful and mindful of the amount you spray)

the cel is on however being a complete honda noob im having trouble figuring out how to get the code, everything says look for an led but i cant find it so i know to use the dash, but i have a p72 obd1 in there and there isone set of wires with i'd say ten prong clip with jumpers in it ill post a pic thats where im confused with that part. i just got the coil so im hoping that will do it, but with my luck..

DSC02163.jpg