1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18a1 help! (new to the honda thing)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Mopar, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. Mopar

    Mopar New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Well I just picked up a 1997 dx ek hatch for a dd ( really nice car I must say). I am a Mopar guy by blood (425whp srt 4 at home :D). This is my dilema and I am hoping someone can help me with my swap as I have been browsing the forums as much as I can to try to find the answer but keep getting conflicting answers(from my readings and local honda people in my area).

    What I picked up was a b18a1 (on block) which looks to be out of an obd1 (by valve cover).Trans is an 1998 gsr tranny. I have axles/mounts (minus the rear which I am trying to find what year to buy out of) and an obd dist ( was told it was due to only having one plug). Shifter cables and all

    Now here is my question (for answers i have gotten but have been sketchy):
    Can I use my stock ecu out of the dx? (was told yes)
    Anything I have to re wire? (Was told to extended a few wires/switch my iac motor onto the b18 motor)



    Thanks for any help you guys can give me, I appreciate it.
     
  2. Mopar

    Mopar New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Maybe I shouldnt of said I was a mopar fan? lol
     
  3. tdnapa

    tdnapa New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Hey Mopar Im pretty sure u can use ur stock ecu you might have to get it reprogrammed
     
  4. Mopar

    Mopar New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    So I should basically go with the p75 ecu? Hopefully it does not matter 5 spd or auto on that
     
  5. tdnapa

    tdnapa New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    yah it does matter if its a manual or auto you can get a p28 and i belive that one works they come out of a 92 si thats what i have in my car,
     
  6. mntlkase

    mntlkase Local neighborhood prick!

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    New Orleans, La
    The stock rear mount in your car will work, the stock harness will work ( MIGHT ) have to extend injector wires, ur stock ecu will work but it will run like ass, get urself a p75 ecu so it runs right with no trouble codes,. Any other questions i'll be happy to help just hit me up. 504 428 6570 or on here.
     
  7. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    not true. he needs a 99-00 civic si rear mount.

    since you have an older ls i would recommend not running obd2. why? well your engine doesn't have the evap equipment that the ecu would be looking for, and it also lacks a ckf sensor on the oil pump. running obd1 will solve this problem and allow easier/cheaper tuning options in the future. now you said the distributor you have has a single plug, so it's either obd2a or obd2b. you can actually use this with the obd1 ecu, you'll just have to switch plugs at either the dizzy or your engine harness.

    http://ff-squad.com/tech/wiring/obd1-2dizzywiring.jpg

    you don't need to change anything with your iacv. only time you would is if you were converting from auto to manual and had to go from a 3 wire tb mounted iacv to a 2 wire intake manifold mounted iacv.

    with the a1 you will likely need to extend yours cars coolant fan wiring from the themostat where its currently at, to the rear of the b18's block. without this, the radiator fan will not kick on.

    your car's fan switch location

    [​IMG]

    fan switch on the ls. the 2 prong sensor not plugged in in the picture

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Mopar

    Mopar New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    So is the only downside to obd2 the lack of tuning? the less wire headache the better as this is my DD. I dont want to go hog wild with it. Maybe I/H/E and thats about it. Just want something in there that has a little more move than the d sersis in it now for the time being
     
  9. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    yea pretty much. the lack of tuning and the extra sensors that are required are what make obd1 the better choice.
     
  10. Mopar

    Mopar New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Yeah I found a whole list of socketed obd1 ecus with harness on ebay last night. One guy will tune itefore he sends it out by mods (conseravite tune) thanks for the help
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page