1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18a1 in ek hatch (96 dx)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by CrixSi91, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Ok let me start of by saying yes I know this is an obd1 motor and the car is an obd2a. This swap I'm doing is not for me. I'm helping a friend out who is not very mechanically inclined. I have been doing some research and I know the better candidate for this swap would be the b18b1, unfourtantlly we can not find one in our area for cheap. So this is what we have to work with.

    So here is what I have gathered so far:
    B18a1 engine complete minus the dizzy
    B16 5 speed trans sc4 I think is the number
    Half shafts and axles
    Rear engine bracket '99-00 civic si
    Left hand engine bracket "same as above"
    Front transmission bracket "same as above"
    Front engine bracket '94-97 del sol DOCH VTEC ( this is to keep ac )
    I also have a shift linkage from the '90-93 Ls

    I think this will at least get the motor in the car. I shouldnt have a problem getting the motor in the car. Im just going to need some helping with the wiring, ecu selection ect. I keep reading that the difference between the a1 and the b1 is the obd and a couple hp's. Is this true? One of the questions I have trouble finding the answer to is, can I make the b18a1 obd2a to save having to buy/make a jumper harness for the ecu? That way I can run the obd2a ecu and dizzy. Also will the dizzy from a b18b1 fit on a b18a1? Will the axles from the b16 trans fit in the hubs on the 96? I'm sure I will have more questions as the swap goes on. We just started cleaning up the engine. This week we will be replacing timing belt, complete top end gaskets, oil pan gasket, oil and filter, water pump, thermostat, spark plugs, adjusting the vales and other routine maintenance. All help and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MOBY

    MOBY New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    yes the dizzy will fit,just swap all the obd2a stuff to swap over,dizzy,ecu,injectors an ect,and the axles will fit,ur over thinkin it man,nice easy swap,but i would swap to obd1,just my 2 cents,better tuning options
     
  3. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Thanks for the information. I always over think things. I'd rather be safe then sorry I guess. Well we didn't get anything done except for degreasing everything. So plans for this weekend is to get the motor freshend up. Ok so I have my list of parts and was going over it making sure we had everything. So far so good. All we need now is the shift linkage from a '99-'00 civic si and the engine brackets. I know I said I had them but I ment I had them on the list. Well looks like it will be a while till the motor goes in. Finding them engine brackets have become a difficult task. I didn't know you could buy them from auto zone. I guess my buddy will either be spending a good penny for them from Honda or spending some time in the junk yard looking for them. Unless someone knows where he could buy them. Any suggestions? I'll keep this updated and will try to post pics as we go along.
     
  4. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    you could look for integra mounts? I know in the 92-95 civic's we just use stock integra mounts and the motor bolts right in... Also Though I don't recomend them for the long hall... ebay has some motor mounts for the swap... just some ideas... also stock integra linkage should fit... just what i did tho
     
  5. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Well it's been a long time now since I've started this project. My buddy had some funding problems but now were back on track.
    [​IMG]
    So here's the car that I'm working on. Ill post a few pics of the progress.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Out with the Y7!
    [​IMG]
    Before.
    [​IMG]
    After a good wash.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Some fresh paint. Still waiting on the valve cover.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Finally got the valve cover and painted. Engine is in and it's about 90% of the way complete now. Tried a test start tonight and she will not start. I checked the timming, firing order, check engine codes, ect. Still won't start. I had a gut feeling to check the compression and bingo. Only having 30 psi in two cylinders and 0 psi in the other two could be why it's not starting. So I broke the bad news to my buddy. He has decided to go ahead and buy new rings and bearings. So tomorrow I get to start pulling the pistons out to change the rings, rod bearing and crank bearings. Buy the time I'm done working on this thing it will be damn near brand new.
     
  6. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Okay small update. Tore the whole engine down, replaced piston rings, rod bearing and crank bearing. Along with new front and rear main seals. Got everything back together and still low compression. So I checked the valve lash and it was way out causing the low compression. I readjusted the valves and it started right up. It was running very poorly. After a couple frustrating hours I notice he had bought an automatic ecu. I ended up pluging the stock ecu in from the 96 dx civic and it runs 20 times better. Except for when your taking off from a dead stop or barely pressing the throttle when trying to cruise. The best way I can describe the problem is its like having a dead spot when giving it gas. It revs up fine to about 1500 rpm then has a dead spot but after you get past that it runs great. I'm not sure what the problem is. It's throwin a code for the 2nd o2 sensor and the iacv. I know the o2 sensor is cause its not hooked up yet and the iacv is cuz I switched it from a 3 wire to 2 wire. Anybody ever had this problem or might know how i can fix it?
     
  7. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Well finally got the obd2a p75 manual ecu. I hooked it up and the car seamed to run better. I didn't have that dead spot in the throttle like I did before. Now its throwing code 91 fuel tank pressure. When I had the other ecu's plugged in I never got this code. Now all of a sudden it's throwing this code. Any idea of why it would be throwing it now?
     
  8. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Well I guess I can't get no more help here time to move on.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page