b18b block build suggestions.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

ktyr5151

Planning on building my b18b for a turbo. I've never built a motor before but I have some friends who can help me out. I was planning on putting 15-18lbs of boost on a 56 trim garret. Or something similar to that size turbo. I need suggestions on pistons and rods. Thanks.

ive been running ~450whp on stock sleeves, eagle rods and JE pistons with no problems. also running an OEM head gasket.
just make sure you use properly sized OEM bearings and seals where possible. that will make or break your build.

eagle rods
JE pistons 9.0:1
OEM hg
BC turbo cams
BC springs & retainers
edelbrock victor x
RC 1000cc injectors
turbonetics t04e @23-24psi
synapse 40mm wg
3" straight exhaust to dynomax super turbo
methanol :ph34r:

if i were to build another honda engine i think i would probably go with CP pistons. i have heard that they tend to swell less than JE pistons due to the materials used in the piston.

what made you choose that turbo?

Im not really sure.
Its not a defibite turbo setup though. What turbo would you suggest?

if youre looking to make a power in the neighborhood of 400whp, id suggest something ball bearing. something like this: Garrett Ball Bearing T3/60-1 550HP OIL/WATER COOL TURBO | eBay

in the .58A/R exhaust housing. quick spool, and this turbo will definitely take you where you want to go.

since that is likely out of your budget (as i find with most who come through here) you have a few options with journal bearing turbochargers as well. you can go with that same turbocharger in journal bearing:
Garrett T3/60-1 550 HP TURBO T04S JOURNAL BEARING T31 | eBay

or you could possibly make it with a 60 trim t3/t4 with a larger exhaust and compressor housing.