B18b Into A 95 Civic Dx

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

stooks

Hey Everyone,

Well first off I am a college student so money is a big issue. Now this is what I would like to do. I want to increase the hp in my car but don't want to spend an incredible amount of money. I have found a 97 ls motor with 47,000 mi on it for $1100. Is that a good price? Now I know the advantages and disadadv. of both the GSR and the LS and I have decided on the LS for the sure money factor. Now the problem that I am having is determining what parts I will need to purchase, such as axles, transmission, ecu etc. Or will the original parts work from my civ? After graduating I would like to turbo charge it but for now I am looking for a higher hp daily driver that will have a little kick.

Thanks so much for you help,

Stooks

hey wasup dude,

i just did a B18B swap into my 95 EG hatch...its a huge difference...its all raw torque...its hype dude...especially the motor is cheap to start of with...from the gsr...i was thinkin of doing before...but i didnt want to drop 5000 CAD for it when i spent only 2000 CAD for m LS...
also you should be able to build a nice LS motor with all the money you saved from buying the GSR motor....and be faster than a GSR.....
based on parts...you can get alot....it depends on what you want....in my case im doing internal work such as cams, pistons, value adj, etc. just by doing that will gain hp for sure...and your car will be fast...
put it this way...5000 CAD in a LS motor ...will be rocking GSR...and giving them something to think about..hahhahhahaha

latez dude
good luck

sorry i forgot to add....

get a nice tranny...i suggest if you are going all motor...get the b16 or GSR tranny....with close gear ratios...i went with the gsr tranny....it makes a huge difference....

clutch...go with a basic type r clutch with pressure plate and flywheel..and you RPM will be flying through with ease...

latez