1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b18b question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by D16SiHatch, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Im getting a b18b out of a 94 integra at the moment and it has an automatic tranny attached to it. now once the engines out i'll be putting an ls 5spd trans on it.

    That being said i'm wondering if i can still use the ecu that is in the donor car? since the car has an auto and ill be putting a manual tranny on it instead, will that cause me to have any issues? do i need to get a diff ecu that was originally in a car with a manual trans?

    and heres a pic of where the car stands now lol, not that you need to see but thought id share. engine is ready to be pulled after workin on it just 2 nights :) and the reason why everything looks wet is cause in the accident the power steering reservoir exploded over the whole engine bay. now i have to repaint the nice valve cover cause the paint is now peeling off :(

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes you can bolt a b series tranny right to it, and you can use the auto ecu also but you will get a check code, so its best to have a 5spd ecu. the auto ecu will run it fine thou you will just have a check code
     
  3. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    ok. well i guess i'll just use it for now and then later when i have more cash ill get a manual one and sell the auto ecu.
     
  4. drummingpariah

    drummingpariah Author of the Madness Man

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    You could also use any other obd1 pgmfi ecu, and remap it. check http://pgmfi.org for details.
     
  5. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    What car you going to install the B18B in?

    If you are swapping it into a OBD-0 chasis then you will need to run obd-0 pr4 ecu Vs. P75 (OBD-1)
    Nice engine by the way.:driver2:
     
  6. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    its goin in my 91 si hatch. i'll be converting it to obd1 and runnin the stock obd1 ecu :) this is how it sits now btw, i've located an ls tranny also as you can see, w00t

    (pardon the dirt and grime, im still degreasing lol)
    [​IMG]
     
  7. drummingpariah

    drummingpariah Author of the Madness Man

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA

    Looks very much like an engine! RyWire is my suggestion for wiring (I'm very much a DIY kind of guy, but there are just some things I'd rather trust to someone else), they have a great reputation.
     
  8. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    If I were you I would just wait and buy the manual ecu. Having the check engine light on constantly means it will already be should something else go wrong. I personally would rather have the light off in case something goes wrong
     
  9. EE2wagovan

    EE2wagovan bitsk

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    colorado
    dont run the auto ECU, thats the dumbest idea ever. plus you can just pick up a p75 for prolly like $50 anyways.
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    :werd:

    Stock LS ECUs aren't horribly expensive...it makes more sense just get the correct ECU from the start...
     
  11. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    i'll be locating a manual ecu before i start it up, sorry i didnt reply and make that decision known lol

    update: another pain in the ass that just became apparent. i received the mount kit today right, but the drivers side mount doesnt match up to the pins on the mount that are actually in the engine. turns out the mount in the engine differs between 90-93 b18a1's, and 94+ b18b1's

    son of a b****

    [​IMG]

    and if anyone has one of these 90-93 engine side mounts just lying around, i'm in the market!


    edit: this is the problem lol
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2008
  12. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    You cannot use an automatic ecu with a manual transaxle. You will not be able to rev past 3-4k.
     
  13. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well im not sure what your saying but, if you have a 5spd car and a auto ecu it will run fine you will just trow a check code
     
  14. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Well, in my vast experience with ecu's, you cannot run an automatic ecu on a car with a manual transaxle. How do I know this you ask? Easy, buy ecu's off of eGay that say they are for manual transaxles, but when you plug them in they won't rev past 4,000 rpm. Then plug them into an automatic transmission civic, and watch it shift it with no problems. :thumbsup:

    You were correct about the CEL part of it though. :)
     
  15. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    and the reason i say you can is i have a auto ecu in my 5spd h22a civic right now and its fine. all i have is a check light for auto tranny code.
     
  16. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Well, maybe for you it is. I do know that with B-series in an EG/EK chassis, obd1/2 cannot be done with automatic ecu's if it has a transaxle.
     
  17. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well as far as the b series goes i cant say because this was on a h22a, so i guess we just got a few more post counts out of this lol
     
  18. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
  19. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    Would it throw a code if I was running the p2e ecu on the d16y8 which is supposed to run the p2p? As for this thread good choice going with the manual ecu regardless if the car runs right, to me it just seems easier to find the right ecu. If you are pulling this motor from a junkyard look around there is bound to be an integra that has the right ecu.
     
  20. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    no i got the motor out of my friends car. he was trying to drift like a dumb chit and ended up smacking a fire hydrant.

    speaking of runnin manual cars on auto ecus. my mustang had a 4spd auto and i swapped it out for a 5 speed manual. i used the auto ecu with no issue other then a blinking overdrive light. Once i got it tuned with an xcal2 they were able to tell the ecu it essentially wasn't automatic any longer so now it runs fine and no check engine light, or o/d light flashing. granted this was a ford not a honda sooo lol.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page