1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18b1 in EG Civic, Already Ordered.. Any Issues ??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 94CivicSlow, Dec 6, 2004.

  1. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N
    Sup guys sorry for the repetitive topic, but I officially purchased a 1995 B18b1 integra LS motor, hydraulic trans, axles, mounts, rear bracket, wiring harness, ecu, linkage, and exhaust manifold and downpipe. It also includes upper and lower radiator hoses.

    THe guy said there might be an issue with hoses if I use my stock radiator from my 1994 dx 1.5. And I have read here that I have to use the integra throttle cable... Are there any more known issues I should be aware of before I begin???

    This is the only car that I have registered so I want to be well prepared so I am not down for more than 2 days.

    Thanks
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Youre gonna need, the integra throttle cable and DOHC VTEC Del Sol, radiator hose. You're probably gonna end up with a couple broken sensors as well. You should get a new clutch but maybe the one your getting will be OK.

    I can't remember what other issues you'll run into, I've done that swap 3 times and and preparing for another. Everytime I've run into some issue, usually minor.
     
  3. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N
    So when I buy an cold air intake, Do I specify 95 civic ls, or 94 civic??/
     
  4. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey



    If your getting a short ram, it doesn't matter...im using one off a saturn. If you get the whole cold air intake, I think the civic one will fit a little better, but it doesn't really matter either.
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    It kind of does because the couplings are different for the different size throtle bodies. ITR or DelSol vtec should be a close fit, or a Civics, but you may need to get different diameter couplers.
     
  6. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    yea, i didn't think of that, figure any one plus probably $2 for the coupling.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    worry about an intake later. just use the stock pipe and a filter until the motor is in and running, since its your only ride. 2 days for your first swap is pushing it, in my opinion. you will always run into shit beyond your control- broken part, needing a hose clamp sunday night at 9pm when all the auto stores are closed, shit! i forgot oil! thigns like that.
     
  8. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N



    Hey I seen you on 240sxone.. You live in MA?? Feel like lending a hand?? LOL. Thanks for the advice
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    im in ct, and im just too damn busy to offer help dude. i'm working on getting my own car together right now. only thing, is i have a deadline- dec22 i need to pass emissions, or un-register the car :(
    maybe in mid-january? lol
     
  10. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N
    One last question... has anyone had any issues with the 02.. will i need to convert it?


    The ls has a heated o2 4 wires... not sure about the old 1.5 civic motor, have to check- could be 1 wire. Any wiring involved there ? Or is it all plug and play
     
  11. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    well i think your car has a four wire o2 but i could be wrong about that, besides you are going to use your stock harness right? i think you can use the cannon plugs on the shock tower with the ls wiring if it is not cut then you should be good with the four wire o2 sensor
     
  12. 94CivicSlow

    94CivicSlow Senior Member

    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    B0ST0N



    well thats exactly what I am going to do. The engine harness is COMPLETE and een includes the pos terminal and the three grey strut tower plugs. So I can just plug it in and not worry about the o2 bs?
     
  13. tphan4

    tphan4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mass
    I put a b18b into a 93 coupe aka EJ but fit perfectly fine....didnt need anything..use the d16z6 throttle cable too...and no check engine lights at all
     
  14. b18_4door

    b18_4door Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    uhh, you had to of needed motor mounts and a shiftlinkage?
     
  15. PhyRe

    PhyRe Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    ct
    i swapped in a b18c1 into my 93 hatch and i had to run the ls header for a while and the o2 in the header pluged right into where my stock civic one was
    no prob
     
  16. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I had to extend the wires from the 02 sensor.
     
  17. bdogggut34

    bdogggut34 Senior Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004


    thats what i did also, of course you have to fabricate a bracket to use the cable but much cheaper than buying an integra cable if it didnt come with the swap.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page