1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18C swap help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by JDMB18C, May 20, 2007.

  1. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    i have 92 Civic Si with a D16z6 & i am going to swap it for a JDM B18C with a Hydro LSD tranny. I am wondering if that motor will just plug right into the stock D16 Harness or do i need to wire it with the B18C harness???? & should i get the OBD1 ecu or OBD2 ecu??

    thanks
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    what year b18c did you get
     
  3. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    not sure i don't have the motor yet, what would be the best year to get??
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    get a obd1 if you can 94-95 modle then all you will have to run is one wire i think
     
  5. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    ok cool, if i can't get the 94-95 model, can i get a jumper for a OBD2 to OBD1??? what will i have to wire up??
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    your car is already a obd1 car os if you get a obd1 motor theres no need for a jumper harness.
     
  7. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    ok, if i have to get the OBD2 ecu what do i have to do??:mellow:
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    then you just buy a obd1 to obd2 jumper harness rywire selles them
     
  9. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    ok thank for the help i will keep you uptodate on how the swap is coming along, i am going to be doing it in june & i also getting a stage 2 clutch & Skunk2 intake pro series & DC headers, can't wait to get it done i will post pics of whn i am done. once again thanks
     
  10. laostha

    laostha New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    dont get dc header. theyre garbage. get a jdm itr 4-1 or a nice tri-y
     
  11. JDMB18C

    JDMB18C New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    ok where can i get those???
     
  12. lewellgd

    lewellgd 92CivicHatchCxBORNINCALI

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    dc sprots headers are fine ive always ran them on any motor ive had and there smog legal so i disagree with that. I would not do obd2 keepit all obd1 and the only wire you will have to run is knock sensor i dont know exactly what to pin it to but i know its posted somewhere in the swap section ive seen it.
     
  13. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    dont forget the butterfli box. i think they have those
     
  14. lewellgd

    lewellgd 92CivicHatchCxBORNINCALI

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    ok im not that good so i have to ask whats the butterfli box.??:confused: Ive not heard of that ever used.
     
  15. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    lol its like a h22a the gsr has secondary butterflies in the intake manifold that opens after it gets up into the right rpm range, and on the h22a theres a vaccum box that controls it
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2007
  16. lewellgd

    lewellgd 92CivicHatchCxBORNINCALI

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    alright got it THANKS. Im not a master yet. LOL
     
  17. muzeii

    muzeii New Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    west coast

    if it's the true "JDM" b18c it doesn't have a butterfly box.... at least from what i've researched and what i'm dealing with right now.
     
  18. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    like i said im not sure if it does or not i know the h22a does and they both have secondaries in them so i was going by that
     
  19. muzeii

    muzeii New Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    west coast
    true, I was just giving my two cents, i'm dealing with JDM engine swap issues myself right now, and I ran into this question a week or so ago :)
     
  20. juicedz

    juicedz Member

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Location:
    edgewood, md
    All I had to do on my 94jdm B18C was wire the knock sensor, vtec and vtec oilpressure. To easy. 8 hrs total for the install. That included getting the rusted a$$ bolts off and the d@mn bitch pin out. Where you located? Im sure for a little beer and food someone would help you out..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page